I took His Word . . . it tasted sweet as honey

The Lord said to me, “Get up and dress and go out and tell them whatever I tell you to say.” This is the same message the Lord has given to all believers. “Don’t be afraid of them, or else I will make a fool of you in front of them”

I was a little concerned about that, so He comforted me when He said, “For you see, I have made you impervious to their attacks. They cannot harm you. You are strong like a fortified city that cannot be captured, like an iron pillar and heavy gates of brass.” Funny, I don’t always feel all that strong and secure . . . “Rest assured, My son, no one will be able to prevail against you. Oh sure, they will try, but they will fail.  For I am with you. I will deliver you” (Jeremiah 1:16-19)

The Lord confirmed this with the words he gave to Ezekiel: “The children are impudent and hard of heart. I send you to them and you shall say to them, Thus says the Lord God. And they, whether they will hear or refuse to hear–for they are a rebellious house–yet shall they know and realize that there has been a prophet among them” (Ezekiel 2:4-5)

Then He gave me His Word and it was “full of warnings and sorrows and pronouncements of doom.” Then He said to me, “Eat what I am giving you. Then go and give its message to the people.” So I took His Word. “Eat it all,” He said. And when I ate it, it tasted sweet as honey (Ezekiel 2:10-3:1-3)

Where have I heard that before?

The fear of the LORD is pure, enduring forever. The ordinances of the LORD are sure and altogether righteous. They are more precious than gold, than much pure gold; they are sweeter than honey, than honey from the comb (Psalm 19:9-10

How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth! (Psalm 119:103)

What a delight! I love to feast on God’s Word. At times it is almost impossible to put down. Honest! Sometimes I open a book of the Bible and get so excited I run around my living room shouting, “Hey family, you have got to read this .  .!” Sure they think I’m nuts, but as we dig deep into God’s Word we will be able to understand life from God’s point of view. As we discover the precious promises of God’s Word, we can become more and more like the Lord Jesus in our attitudes and lifestyle. We can escape the corruption that is in the world while being changed into his likeness from glory to glory.

And all of us, as with unveiled face, Because we continued to behold in the Word of God as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are constantly being transfigured into His very image in ever increasing splendor and from one degree of glory to another; For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit. —II Corinthians 3:18

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts.
It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

