Sin Vacination

Life’s greatest calamity, from Yehoveh’s perspective, is that people will die in sin. In one sentence Christ twice warned, “I told you that you would die in your sins, if you do not believe that I am the one I claim to be, you will indeed die in your sins” (John 6:24). Sounds simple enough, but you still want to argue with him . . .

Forget earthquakes or asteroids falling on top of you or melting from global warming. The ultimate disaster is carrying your sins to your casket. Heaven cannot fathom a worse tragedy. And heaven couldn’t offer a greater gift that this one: “Christ . . . never sinned, but he died for sinners that he might bring us safely home to God” (I Peter 3:18).

Can I urge you to trust this truth? Let your constant prayer be, this: “Lord, I receive your work. My sins are pardoned.” Trust the work of God for you. Then trust the presence of Christ in you. Take frequent, refreshing drinks from his well of grace. You need regular reminders that you are not fatally afflicted! Don’t live as though you are.

My friend, if you have sworn your allegiance to Jesus’ work, He indwells you! “The blood of Jesus . . . purifies us from all sin” (I John 1:7). So there is no need of the guilt on our faces; there should be no regrets over your past actions and words; there is no reason for you to carry that shame. We should live with a smile and a skip and a sparkle in our eyes!

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you—a to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

