The 8th Chapter of Hebrews

Some folks asked me recently about my training and all. Wondering which Seminary or Bible School I had attended and I kind of chuckled and told them that I attended the same school as Paul, the school of the Holy Ghost.

That’s been my usual response, but I hope everyone knows I have nothing against Seminaries or Bible Training Centers, they’re great, It’s just not the direction the Lord has led me. But be that as it may, I was going through one of my more favorite books, Hebrews, and I have read this so many times I can’t remember, but this time something jumped out at me. It’s from the eighth chapter of Hebrews (this one from The Message):

“But Jesus’ priestly work far surpasses what these other priests do, since he is working from a far better plan. If the first plan-the old covenant-had worked out, a second wouldn’t have been needed. But we know the first was found wanting, because God said,

Heads up! The days are coming
when I’ll set up a new plan
for dealing with Israel and Judah.
I’ll throw out the old plan
I set up with their ancestors
when I led them by the hand out of Egypt.
They didn’t keep their part of the bargain,
so I looked away and let it go.
This new plan I’m making with Israel
isn’t going to be written on paper,
isn’t going to be chiseled in stone;
This time I’m writing out the plan in them,
carving it on the lining of their hearts.
I’ll be their God,
they’ll be my people.

[Now here’s the part that hit me . . .]

They won’t go to school to learn about me,
or buy a book called God in Five Easy Lessons.
They will all get to know me firsthand,
the little and the big, the small and the great.
They’ll get to know me by being kindly forgiven,
with the slate of their sins forever wiped clean.”

Isn’t that cool? There is nothing special about the Seminaries and Bible Schools. They don’t give you any special anointing or power. The Diploma you might hang on your wall didn’t provide the calling or give you that special “unction” to teach or pastor or anything else. The teaching and training comes directly from the Holy Spirit. And that same Holy Spirit is in YOU! One of His roles in your life is as a teacher–to lead you into all the truth, the Bible says. Yippee! Start letting him teach you . . . then as Paul wrote in another letter, you can teach others about God’s care and love for them!

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you—a to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

