Stay Green!

lol, Stay Green. I bet you were thinking something might be going on with me, didn’t you? Stay Green. “Oh no, Nickolas is turning into a tree hugger . . .” Nope, but in Revelation 9, the chapter on the locusts, verse 4 shows God’s command to the locusts not to destroy anything green. For some reason, that caught my eye. So I used a concordance (wonderful invention, you know) and a thought leaped out at me.

I realized something that will make my environmentalist friends rejoice . . . well kind of . . . God indeed wants us to remain Green, but in a different way than you might think. You see, the key to remaining safe in any time of terror is to “stay green.”  Oh, oh. I’ve gone off the deep end . . . no, David wrote, “I am like a green olive-tree in the house of God; I trust in and confidently rely on the loving-kindness and the mercy of God forever and ever” (Psalm 52:8).

The “green” that David refers to here signifies spiritual health and strength. It means to flourish, to grow, to be fruitful. David is telling us, “My health comes from trusting God. I flourish because I turn to him. My trust in him produces spiritual life in me.”

Here is a wonderful truth about the power of staying green. “The Lord says, ‘Cursed is the one who depends on mere humans, and their wisdom, who thinks he can make it on muscle alone and sets God aside as dead weight. He is like a tumbleweed on the prairie, out of touch with the good earth. He lives rootless and aimless in a land where nothing grows.” (Jeremiah 17:5-6).

The Lord is warning, “Don’t trust in man. If you put your faith in human power rather than in me, you will be cursed.”

However, if we put our trust in the Lord, here is what our faith will produce: “Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him. He will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.” (Jeremiah 17:7-8).

If we put our confidence in our Father–wholly in our Father–we put down roots in his river of health. And his divine strength—luscious, green, spiritual health—flows in us and through us. While our nation and economy seem to be suffering and everything around us is decaying, we’ll flourish as green trees, healthy and strong. And when the hour of trial comes in our own lives, we won’t languish or wilt. Instead, our faith will be growing.

Be strong my friends. His Word is reliable, His presence brings peace and His wisdom illuminates our paths . . .

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you—a to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

