The Heart of Jesus

I’m guessing (or at least hoping) that we don’t have any trouble identifying with the servant in his duty to the master. We don’t have any trouble putting on our apron and serving up the Lord a full table of praises—a good feast of worship. We love to feed our Lord! It’s our greatest joy, our supreme fulfillment—to minister unto the Lord.

“If your servant comes in from plowing or from taking care of the sheep, would you say, “Welcome! Come on in and have something to eat”? No, you wouldn’t say that. You would say, “Fix me something to eat. Get ready to serve me, so I can have my meal. Then later on you can eat and drink.” (Luke 17:7-8).

Some of us do have a problem with the last part—the Lord’s part. “And afterward, you will eat and drink!” That is too much for us to grasp. We don’t know how to sit down after we have served him—to allow him the same joy we experienced in serving him! We rob our Lord of the joy of ministering to us. That part is a major bugaboo for some of us.

Maybe it’s just me. I don’t know. I figure my Lord gets enough pleasure from what I do for him, but there is so much more. He responds to our faith and rejoices when we repent. He talks to the Father about us and delights in our childlike trust. But I am convinced that his greatest need is to have one-to-one communication with those he left here on earth. No angel in heaven can meet that need. Jesus wants to talk with those on the battlefield.

Where did I get such a notion that Christ is lonely and has a desperate need to speak? It is all there in the account of Christ appearing to the two disciples on the road to Emmaus. Jesus had just been resurrected and that same day two disciples were walking from Jerusalem to Emmaus. They were grieved about their departed Lord but when he drew near, they didn’t recognize him. He wanted to talk; he had so much to say to them.

“Jesus came near and started walking along beside them . . . then explained everything written about himself in the Scriptures, beginning with the Law of Moses and the Books of the Prophets (Luke 24:15, 27).

I can’t imagine a finer experience for those disciples and they went away saying, “. . . Didn’t our hearts burn within us, while he talked with us?” Wow! It’s not hard for us to understand the joy of the disciples, but what about the joy of Jesus? Here is a resurrected Lord, tears streaming down his cheeks, his heart filled with joy. He was fulfilled, his need had been met, and I see him overjoyed. He had ministered and in his glorified form, he had experienced his first two-way communion. He had poured out his heart but his lonely heart had been touched and his need had been met. Well anyway, that’s how I see it.

Lord, I love to worship and adore you. In fact, I can’t help doing that. Like the Psalmist I cry, “I have only you, and you are all I want. You are my strength and my joy forever.”

But I forget that your love for me goes far beyond my feeble love and devotion I can give to you. So Lord, this morning I’m pausing all my activities to hear from you. I lift my eyes toward you for one purpose, to allow you to demonstrate your love for me. It is something I take for granted because I know you do love me. But I never give you the opportunity to show your care for me. Like your two disciples on the road to Emmaus, come and walk beside me. Explain everything written about you. I’m giving you time to show your love.

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

