His Voice

John’s disciples [referring to the disciples of John the Baptist] got into an argument with the establishment Jews over the nature of baptism. They came to John and said, “Rabbi, you know the one who was with you on the other side of the Jordan? The one you authorized with your witness? Well, he’s now competing with us. He’s baptizing, too, and everyone’s going to him instead of us.” John answered: No one can do anything unless God in heaven allows it. Certainly, you remember how I told you that I am not the Messiah. I am only the one sent ahead of him. (John 3:27-28)

I was thinking about John the Baptist recently, and I realized that he never made it to Pentecost! He never saw the tongues of fire, he never heard the mighty rushing wind. He never saw Jerusalem shaken and multitudes converted. But, John said his joy was fulfilled! He had heard something better than the rushing wind—better than good reports—better than the sounds of a joyful bride. He had heard the Savior’s voice.

“At a wedding the groom is the one who gets married. The best man is just glad to be there and to hear the groom’s voice. That’s why I am so glad.” (John 3:29).

John had tasted the greatest joy a follower of Jesus can know. He said, “I stood still and I heard him talk to me. His voice made my heart leap. He talked to me personally. I listened to my Lord and that’s my joy. Just hearing his
voice.”

John could say, “O yes, I loved him. I worshipped at his feet and told him how unworthy I was. But my joy isn’t in what I said to him, my joy is in that he spoke to me! I heard his voice, and I rejoice just in the sound of that
voice.”

Sadly, some people teach that the Lord no longer speaks to men except through the revealed Word. They can’t believe men can be directed and blessed by hearing that still small voice today.

Jesus said, “My sheep know my voice; they hear when I call . . . ” These days we’re afraid of all the abuses, afraid we will be led to revelations contrary to the Word of God. But, all the abuses aren’t God’s fault. Every fake vision, false prophecy, false leading is a direct result of man’s own pride and self-will. Men abuse every gift of God. Nevertheless, God still speaks directly to the hearts of those willing to hear.

“Going through a long line of prophets, God has been addressing people in different ways for centuries. but now he is speaking to us directly through his Son” (Hebrews 1:1).

That ought to be exciting the bejeebers out of you! So, as the Holy Ghost says, “Today, if you hear his voice, don’t harden your heart” (Hebrews 3:7). Keep your heart soft and pliable and watch Him fill your day with abundance of joy.

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

