I Am Forgiven (by Brian Kinnett)

Faithful is the saying, and worthy of all acceptation, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners; of whom I am chief: (I Timothy 1:15)

Each of us must choose who we will serve, if we say to God, no, we have made the choice to serve the devil, whether we serve him voluntarily or involuntary, denying God is service to the devil.

Growing up I was blessed to have a wonderful Christian mother, she took us to church, and helped us get involved. I became president of our youth group and became the worship leader by the time I was 16.

I knew who Jesus was, and in my mind, I was serving Him. But my heart was filled with selfishness and evil. First I say this because if your parents are saved, or your spouse is saved, this does not guarantee that you are saved. If you go to church and serve in church, this does not mean you are saved. I did everything people wanted me to do, I fooled them, and myself. But I could not fool God, ever.

I did everything I could, as I rebelled against God to show Him how much I hated him, after all, who was He to tell me that I was a sinner, and was going to die and go to hell. And since I was going there, it was going to be on my terms. I won’t bore you with details, but I know sin of every sort, and if you ranked me, I guarantee, I was a one star general in the devil’s army. My life was in the fast lane and going full throttle.

But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. …For if when we were enemies we were reconciled to God through the death of His Son, much more, having been reconciled, we shall be saved by His life. Romans 5:8, 10

At the top of my game, I was empty, I had wealth, material things, kids, everything a man could want, but inside I was being eaten alive like cancer, from sin. I knew the difference between right and wrong, and I did not care.

God brought me a place in my life where I had to come to Him. If I wanted peace, my family, and happiness, I had to surrender. I knelt down and cried out God Save Me from the eternal damnation I am bound for, I want free from this bondage that I have surrendered to, I want you. I need to be forgiven and cleansed of my sins. November 22nd, 1998, it was like God ripped the sin from me. I stopped smoking, drinking, swearing, being deceitful and vile, and walked away from the money and said dear Lord I am yours, use me.

Now my life is not perfect, I am human, I struggle with everything you all do. We all have the same struggles, the devil is not clever, he does not have to come up with new ideas to entrap us, we are easily swayed when we are not rooted in Jesus Christ. But I am forgiven, and I have a Savior who was tempted in every way, that I am each day. And He alone is the key to victory.

Seeing then that we have a great High Priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession. For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need (Hebrews 4:14-16).

If I had not been addicted to so many things, I could not know the sting of sin, and the traps that ensnare us. But I do know the poisons that are out there, I have tasted them, I have worshiped them, I have glorified myself in them.

If I had not then God could not use me in so many ways to speak truth to those who are struggling with addictions and pain, and those who think they can’t make it day to day. But He is allowing me, to be a tool in His hands to reach out. And I am thankful for His grace, and mercy.

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28).

The first step to forgiveness is admitting you are a sinner we all are.

for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God Romans 3:23

The second step is admitting you need a Lord and Savior, and that is Jesus Christ. He is the only way to heaven and eternal salvation.

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me. John 14:6

The Third is confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, not only with your mouth, but with your heart, let Him mold, and make you into the person, He has called you to be.

if you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved; Romans 10;9

The fourth is start serving Him, get in a Bible believing, teaching church, and get fed, read His word every day, start with the book of John. And grow!

Jesus Christ will cleanse you and forgive you for all sins except one. He will forgive you no matter what you have done, or said, the only unforgivable sin, is dying in your sin denying Jesus Christ as Lord and refusing the calling of the Holy Spirit, and sentencing yourself to an eternity in hell. He will never force Himself on you. He only asks and shows us the way.

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us of our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 1 John 1:9

So whether you accept Him or deny Him. You still have made a choice.

If you have a prayer request or comments you can always email me at briankinnett@hotmail.com . If you have questions about salvation, or to know if you are truly saved, please email me.

In Christ
brian

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

