It’s Impossible . . .

I want you to consider one of my favorite verses:

“Abraham didn’t focus on his own impotence and say, “It’s hopeless. This hundred-year-old body could never father a child.” Nor did he survey Sarah’s decades of infertility and give up. He didn’t tiptoe around God’s promise asking cautiously skeptical questions. He plunged into the promise and came up strong, ready for God, sure that God would make good on what he had said.” (Romans 4:19-20)


That is true faith! God had just promised Abraham he would have a son, one who would become the seed of many nations. Amazingly, Abraham didn’t flinch at this promise, even though he was way past the age of producing children. Instead of arguing with God, when Abraham received this word from the Lord, he “didn’t waver through unbelief.”

This is where the problem lies with the natural mind. It was impossible for this promise to be fulfilled. To the rationally thinking person, this couldn’t happen, right? That’s as likely as someone being resurrected from the dead. I mean, give me a break.  But not Abraham. He didn’t dwell on any such impossibility. According to Paul, Abe never gave a thought as to how God would keep his promise. He didn’t reason with God, “But, Lord, I have no seed to plant, and even if I did, Sarah has no life in her womb to conceive. My wife is past the ability to bear children. So, how will you do it, Lord?” Now granted, he and Sarah came up with their own solution with her handmaiden, but you know the results of that choice. No, no. Instead of even entertaining questions like that, as the King Jim Version puts it, Abraham simply “considered not.”

The fact is, when God is at work producing a faith that is tried and better than gold, he first puts a sentence of death on all human resources. He closes the door to all human reasoning, bypassing every means of a rational deliverance.

The faith that pleases God is born in a place of deadness. I am talking about the end of all human possibilities. This is a place where man-made plans flourish at first and then die. This is a place where human hopes bring temporary relief but soon crash, adding to a sense of helplessness.

Are you at this place of deadness? Does it seem as though you have no options left? There is no one around to call for advice and counsel? Do the heavens feel like brass when you pray, and your requests fall to the ground?

With all the confidence and assurance I possess, I declare to you, this is God at work. His Spirit is working to get you to stop considering the impossibilities—-to stop looking to human ways and means—-to stop trying to think your way out of your situation. The Holy Spirit is urging you, “Quit hunting for help from some man. And quit focusing on how hopeless you think your situation is. Those are hindrances to your faith.” Just like Abraham: “considered not” any way out.

I don’t have all the answers for you . . . well, actually I do, but you won’t like it. And it won’t ease you mind any . . . trust our Lord. Fix you head and heart on our Father’s abilities and not on your own.

Told you, you wouldn’t like my answer. Don’t follow the example of Zacharias that I told you about in another message. When he questioned God’s promise, he lost his voice for 9 months. No, Abraham is supposed to be our example. When hope was dead in him, he went on hoping. In fact, “with undaunted faith” he looked at the facts, yet refused to allow any distrust of any thing God promised him. He “drew strength from his faith” and “remained absolutely convinced” that God was able to complete the promise.

So there you have it. Relax and let your Father bring it about . . .

Father, I do indeed believe that you are able to bring your promise to pass. I don’t know how or even care how you will do it. But this morning I am drawing strength from my faith and confidence and trust in You. Thank you, Father. I honor only you and celebrate your work in my life. Be glorified throughout my day. You are my delight and my joy. Amen!!!

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

