What’s the Light (in your life)?

Why does it seem that The Church lacks spiritual authority in our society? Why are our government leaders and the media so condescending to Christians? Why has The Church lost all meaning and purpose in the world’s eyes? Why have many written off Christianity as totally irrelevant to their lives?

It’s because, for the most part, The Church is no longer a light to the world and disciples of our Lord don’t release the Life of Christ. Jesus isn’t ruling in our society because He doesn’t reign in our own lives. Sadly, very few in God’s house are truly in union with Christ. There is so little fellowship with heaven. Instead of communion with Christ, many ministers prefer to use worldly methods to trust God for their direction. We have lost our light because we have lost Christ’s Life. For God’s authority to have any impact, it must be lived out in yielded, obedient vessels.

How devoted to prayer and fellowship are we? How much are we willing to sacrifice our “free time” to spend time in prayer and fellowship with our Lord? Think about the kingdom of Babylon during the time of Nebuchadnezzar. This was the mightiest empire on earth. Daniel prophesied that every succeeding king would be inferior, less powerful, less influential.

Why? Quite simply because Nebuchadnezzar wasn’t the real ruler in Babylon. It’s true. The power behind the empire wasn’t in the golden statue he erected. No, Babylon’s authority rested in the hands of a small group of God-possessed men. The Lord had set up a secret, Heavenly government and it was ruled by Daniel and the three Hebrew children. These men were God’s governing instruments, because they operated in the heavenly realm. They refused to have anything to do with the world system. Instead, they shut themselves in with God.

What an exciting thought! As a result, these holy men knew the times. They could tell the people what God was up to at any given time. They were bright shining lights to the whole nation, because they had the Life of God within them.

In the 6th chapter of II Kings, we read about Syria making war against Israel. During this conflict, the prophet Elisha sat at home communing with the Lord. This man was God’s secret government, and he ruled with authority. Elisha heard from the Lord, and sent messages to Israel’s king, warning him of every move the Syrian army made.

When the Syrian king found out about Elisha’s messages to the Israel’s king that thwarted every move he made, he surrounded the prophet’s hometown with a battalion of troops. But God blinded the Syrians, and Elisha ended up leading them into the Israelites’ camp, where they were captured. That is the way our Father works! Elisha had the light—and he knew Satan’s every move—because he had the life.

I believe The Church can become an influence in our nation if we become a secret, Heavenly government. Oh, you probably won’t have an official position of ruling our nation, but you can effect the governance in your personal life. You can have a secret, Heavenly government that protects the security of your family. How about being the secret, Heavenly government of your employer; your neighborhood? your city? As we spend time in fellowship and intercession, we will change, and that will affect the people we meet with on a daily basis.

Now I’m going to get real personal for a moment. In the third chapter of Colossians, Paul wrote that, “Since you have been raised to new life with Christ” Now that is something our Lord did for us! As a result of what he had done, you are to, “set your sights on the realities of heaven, where Christ sits in the place of honor at God’s right hand.” That’s something you are to do. Paul didn’t say, “Ask the Lord to help you set your sights.” No, you set your own sights. “Think about the things of heaven, not the things of earth.” You are to control your own thoughts. “For you died to this life, and your real life is hidden with Christ in God.” Do see that? YOU died to this life! So quit setting your affections on this life and start setting your affections on His Kingdom. So what will happen? “When Christ, who is your life, is revealed to the whole world, you will share in all his glory.”

Oh that’s good!

Father, I commit myself to knowing and understanding your ways. I am devoted to reflecting your Light and your Life to those around me. I will no longer ask you to do what you have already directed me to do. I am setting my affections and my priorities and my desires to serve only you! You are now my Lord and my King and I swear my allegiance to you alone.

I now put to death all of the sinful, earthly things that are lurking within me. I have nothing to do with sexual immorality, impurity, lust, and evil desires. I will not worship the things of this world (Colossians 3:5). From the point on, I will put on my new nature, and I will be renewed as I learn to know you, my Creator and I am becoming like you (Colossians 3:10)

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

