The Need for Forgiveness

Yesterday I talked about our requirement . . . our need to forgive,  but did you know that Jesus came to rescue us from the great hindrance of being human. You see, we have a sin problem, and we are powerless to do anything about it. Given the right set of circumstances and the wrong state of mind, every one of us is capable of just about anything. Go ahead and argue with me about it, but even if we could get our external lives under perfect and legalistic control, we would probably rot on the inside with pride. Admit it, we are hopeless–except that Jesus came as the “Son of Man” with the “Authority on earth to forgive sins.”

There was a time when I was so grieved and devastated by something I had done I wept and prayed for my Father to forgive me. My behavior and sin was so below my standards I was shocked I was even capable of committing. I had violated many values and principles I held tightly. But there I was . . . pleading for forgiveness. Then one day the Lord was able to break through my self-pity and I heard a song from Philips, Craig and Dean: “When God Ran.” I wept and wept and finally discovered deliverance.

I pray you can find such deliverance and freedom. Just one time you need to break yourself down and weep before your Father. Be so moved and consumed with His Spirit that you become completely undone. Psalm 34:18 says, “The Lord is close to those who are of a broken heart and saves those who are crushed with sorrow for sin.” Once you taste such despair, will find great deliverance.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts, Forgiveness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Need for Forgiveness

  1. Judy S says:

    “Given the right set of circumstances and the wrong state of mind, every one of us is capable of just about anything.”

    I love truth.

    “Once you taste of such despair, will find great deliverance.”

    Not sure if this is true, but I heard once that shepherds will break the legs of a lamb that persistently wanders. Afterward, the shepherd will carry the broken lamb across his shoulders until healed.

    That’s kind of what the Lord did for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

