It’s Not “Out There”

Every week I send out what I call “Vital Viewing.” They are videos/teachings of some prominent prophetic teachers attempting to alert and prepare The Church for the soon return of our Lord. Now watching those videos and reading posts and articles from other teachers—plus shows we see on TV—it is so easy to become excited (or concerned/afraid) about his return. (Our response will be determined by where our heart is in our relationship before the Lord)

Anyway, some of us are relying solely on His return and neglect our responsibilities. For instance, I heard one brother say he is not worried about having too much debt because the Lord was going to “take him away.” My goodness, how irresponsible can you get? Someone else who was becoming overwhelmed with “life” in general and is hoping the rapture will come and resolve their problems.

Others think what they need is a new job; a raise; a new spouse . . . it is so sad to see how some of us are looking to the future for fulfillment. We think some future event or some change in our circumstance will bring us peace and joy. We say, “Just wait; my day is coming. Somehow, someday, somewhere . . . I don’t know what it is that’s out there for me, but it’s coming.” We are like children waiting for Christmas and counting the days.

David once wrote during a mournful, introspective season in his life that he felt time was going too fast. He had accomplished so little, he thought. Everything at the time seemed to be in vain. “Surely every man walks to and fro–like a shadow in a pantomime; surely for futility and emptiness he is in turmoil; each one heaps up riches, not knowing who will gather them. And now, Lord, what do I wait for and expect? (Psalm 39:6-7). David was depressed, down. His present situation appeared so useless. So from a heart that was perplexed and torn, he cried out, “Lord, what am I waiting for?”

Several years ago I went camping all by myself in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, and while walking through a forest the Lord spoke to my heart and asked, “Son, what is it you’re waiting for? Why isn’t this the best day of your life? Why can’t you be full and joyous now—where you are? There is nothing out there that you don’t already have in with me.”

Oh, how that struck me. He knows how to reach to the heart of things, doesn’t he? I can now declare, along with King David, “My hope and expectation are in You . . .” (Psalm 39:7).

Let me ask you, What are you waiting for? “Oh, for Mr. Right,” you may answer—that godly person you think is going to rescue you from all of your loneliness and fill your soul with unspeakable joy. Some are bored with their mates and waiting for them to go to glory because they are looking for romance to come into their lives and drive away their emptiness. Some are looking to move to another city or state. That’s where they hope to find peace. No! There is nothing out there that will change or save you from who and what you are already. If you think someone else is going to solve your loneliness problem, you are badly mistaken. You must find deliverance, peace, hope and joy now! Yeshua is the only one who can fill the void in your life. Wake up and live!

Nickolas

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

With these Morning Messages, I take you on guided tours to, as Bunyan described, the Celestial City. At times we linger at corners familiar and unseen. And explore the depths of our faith along the way.

The trail is long, but there’s no hurry. Though we do need to stock up on supplies for the way, and that’s where I need your help. If you enjoy these messages, please consider becoming a contributing member of this tour group. It will be very much appreciated.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

