Taking Care of Business

If you are anything like me, when you saw that title, you immediately thought of “Bachman Turner Overdrive” (or not. lol). But trust me, my message has nothing to do with them. I was thinking of the time when Jesus was teaching and said, ““Whoever acknowledges me before others, I will also acknowledge before my Father in heaven. But whoever disowns me before others, I will disown before my Father in heaven.” Now that was rather strong — stinging, actually. But He used a word here that has several related meanings: covenant, assent or agreement. He was talking about an agreement we have with him. Our part is to confess him, or represent him, in our daily lives. We are to live by his promises of protection and personal care. We are also expected to testify to – to declare — his marvelous blessings — but not with just words, but by the way we live.

Confessing our Lord means far more than simply believing in Him. Shoot, James said that even the Demons believe in Him, and they shudder in fear! But it also means more that saying He is the Son of God, crucified, buried, resurrected and seated at the father’s right hand! You didn’t know that, did you? When you say those words, they mean nothing to those who do not know Him.  So, what does Jesus mean when he says we are to “confess him before men”?

Well, what preceded all this was Jesus saying, “Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? None of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care” (Matthew 10:29). Jesus was telling them, “Think about the millions of birds throughout the earth. Now think of all the birds that have existed since Creation. To this day, not one bird has died or been snared without your heavenly Father knowing it.” That is amazing!

Then he pointed out, “Even the very hairs of your head are all numbered” (Matthew 10:30). Now granted, that is easier for some of us, but Jesus was emphasizing, “Our Father is so great, he is beyond our ability to comprehend Him. You will never be able to grasp how detailed his care for you is.”

Jesus finished all this by saying, “So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows” Matthew 10:31). How about that? But we continually worry about our mortgage payments; getting groceries and what news we may hear from the Doctor. The whole time our Father is guiding and directing everything around us.

Jesus summed everything up by saying, “Whoever acknowledges me before others I will also acknowledge before my Father in heaven” (Matthew 10:32). Think about that. He is saying, “Think about what I have just revealed to you about the Father’s all-seeing, all-knowing care. You are to confess this truth to the whole world. You are to live, breathe and testify, ‘My Father cares for me.’”

My friend, I am encouraging you to believe in our Father’s love and accept His intimate care for you. Lay lay down all your fears and doubts. Live before men with the faith that He has not overlooked you. When everyone around you is talking about terrorists and economic collapse, confess to them, “My Father’s eye is on the sparrow, and I know he watches over me. Despite all the problems in the world, He is taking care of me.”

(Well, since I mentioned them, I was “compelled” to add them. If nothing else, it takes me back to High School. Sorry, if this offends you):

Nickolas

With these Morning Messages, I take you on guided tours to, as Bunyan described, the Celestial City. At times we linger at corners familiar and unseen. And explore the depths of our faith along the way.

The trail is long, but there’s no hurry. Though we do need to stock up on supplies for the way, and that’s where I need your help. If you enjoy these messages, please consider becoming a contributing member of this tour group. It will be very much appreciated.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

