Be At Peace

I once again received a bunch of replies from my last message. Which shouldn’t surprise me. When you talk about an Angry God, people get angry. Please understand that the only ones who need to fear this Angry God, are those who are in rebellion to Him. Those who refuse to acknowledge His rule of their life; those who refuse to admit the sin in their life; they are those who will face that “Angry God.” However, if you have come and openly repented and allowed the Lord to bring you into His family, you have nothing to fear. It is only those who are too proud and arrogant to submit. Don’t believe me? Turn to the twenty-sixth chapter of Leviticus:

“if you refuse to obey me and won’t observe my commandments, despising my decrees and holding my laws in contempt by your disobedience, making a shambles of my covenant, I’ll step in and pour on the trouble . . .

“And if none of this works in getting your attention, I’ll discipline you seven times over for your sins . . .

“If you defy me and refuse to listen, your punishment will be seven times more than your sins . . .

“And if even this doesn’t work and you refuse my discipline and continue your defiance, then it will be my turn to defy you. I, yes I, will punish you for your sins seven times over . . .

“And if this—even this!—doesn’t work and you still won’t listen, still defy me, I’ll have had enough and in hot anger will defy you, punishing you for your sins seven times over . . .

That may of been tough reading, but did you catch something? Yahweh gave you chance after chance; opportunity after opportunity; warning after warning, and all you had to do was admit you needed Him. Since you didn’t, because you resisted His call, because of your arrogance, He brought judgment. However, if you kept reading, you would see a different story:

“On the other hand, if they confess their sins; if by some chance they soften their hard hearts and make amends for their sin, I’ll remember my covenant with Jacob, I’ll remember my covenant with Isaac, and, yes, I’ll remember my covenant with Abraham. And I’ll remember the land.

It is your pride that is keeping from Life. But please realize that the “Angry God” Edwards preached about, was only for those who were without Christ and had no fear of His judgment. If you have submitted to His rule, you have nothing to fear. No, your heart cries out, “Only in Elohim do I find rest; my salvation comes from him alone . . . Oh, I must find rest in Elohim only because my hope comes from him alone!” (Psalm 62:1, 5). We have nothing to fear and only peace to enjoy. As Tozer wrote:

The love of God is one of the great realities of the universe, a pillar upon which the hope of the world rests. But it is a personal, intimate thing, too. God does not love populations He loves people. He loves not masses, but men. He loves us all with a mighty love that has no beginning and can have no end.

In Christian experience there is a highly satisfying love content that distinguishes it from all other religions and elevates it to heights far beyond even the purest and noblest philosophy. This love content is more than a thing; it is God Himself in the midst of His Church singing over His people. True Christian joy is the heart’s harmonious response to the Lord’s song of love.

So those of you who thought I was speaking to you, be at peace. As I have told you many times before, a true believer is seeking to get away from sin. But an unbeliever is seeking to get away with sin. If you feared His judgment, rest assured that you will never experience it. Jesus declared, “I am leaving with you Peace. In fact, I am giving you my peace [a peace that goes beyond anything you can imagine]. Not the kind the world gives so stop allowing yourself to be worried, frustrated and disturbed, and do not allow yourself to be afraid, intimidated, cowardly and unsettled (John 14:27). Now, “Let the peace of Christ be in control in your heart (for you were, in fact, called as one body to this peace), and be thankful (Colossians 3:15).

Nickolas

With these Morning Messages, I take you on guided tours to, as Bunyan described, the Celestial City. At times we linger at corners familiar and unseen. And explore the depths of our faith along the way.

The trail is long, but there’s no hurry. Though we do need to stock up on supplies for the way, and that’s where I need your help. If you enjoy these messages, please consider becoming a contributing member of this tour group. It will be very much appreciated.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

