Jesus Loves Me, This I know . . .

I love listening to Michael Card’s version of “Jesus Loves me.” Especially the chorus:

Jesus loves me, this I know
It’s not just the Bible that tells me so
I can feel it, feel it in my soul
Jesus loves me, this I know

Let’s pretend I am out walking in the woods with one of my sons. Suddenly he steps on a bear trap and in agony, falls on the ground. He is crying out in pain, bleeding, and crying for help. Now, as his father, am I going to stop and determine the quality of his faith in me? Am I going to ask myself, “Does he really have enough faith and confidence that I will come to his rescue?”

No! A thousand times no! I run to his side — no questions asked — no faith involved — Why? Because what motivates me is my love for my son! I am his father, and nothing would keep me from coming to his rescue. All that matters is that he is my son! I am not motivated by his faith. I come to his rescue because of my love for him.

What kind of an earthly father would leave a child bleeding and hurt in some forsaken woods simply because the child didn’t voice enough faith in him? Yet that is what we accuse our Heavenly Father of doing all time. In fact, He is the example for a human father. He would never leave one of his children to suffer alone. He will never shut his ear to their cries simply because their faith in him is weak.

I am reminded of something Paul wrote to Timothy:

“If we are faithless, he remains faithful, for he cannot disown himself” (II Timothy 2:13)

My faith, your faith, all faith must rest on the loving-kindness and concern of our heavenly Father. We are commanded to glory in the love and everlasting kindness of our Father. Jeremiah prophesied,

“If anyone wants to brag, they should brag that they understand and know me. They should brag that I, Yahweh, act out of love, righteousness, and justice on the earth. This kind of bragging pleases me, declares Yahweh.” (Jeremiah 9:24)

That’s right; our God loves his children, so he hears them before they call, like a mother who anticipates her baby’s cry. That is why David prayed, “In keeping with your mercy, hear my voice. O Yahweh, give me a new life guided by your regulations” (Psalm 119:149). He loves each one of us and comes to our rescue even when our faith is weak; He comes when we don’t deserve any answer from him, and all He can see is our pain. All of this because of his tenderness and kindness.

Like the Psalmist I cry, “Yahweh is compassionate, merciful, patient, always ready to forgive and always abounding in love!” (Psalm 103:8). Once I became convinced that my Father loves me, the greatest peace flooded my life. So much so, He will come to my rescue and do what is right in every situation of my life. Weak faith or not, He still loves me, and nothing can hinder that love.

Nickolas

With these Morning Messages, I take you on guided tours to, as Bunyan described, the Celestial City. At times we linger at corners familiar and unseen. And explore the depths of our faith along the way.

The trail is long, but there’s no hurry. Though we do need to stock up on supplies for the way, and that’s where I need your help. If you enjoy these messages, please consider becoming a contributing member of this tour group. It will be very much appreciated.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

