Receive Mercy and Find Grace

We have finally reached the passage I began my search for:

So we can go confidently to the throne of Grace to receive Mercy and find Grace to help us in our time of need.(Hebrews 4:16)

This not only closes out the fourth chapter of Hebrews but gives us an excellent conclusion to our search. After everything we have covered over the last few days, we are told we can come “confidently” to the “throne of Grace.” Why would we come? To “receive Mercy and to find Grace” (God’s ability, to do what we cannot do). One translation adds that we will receive this Grace and Mercyat the right time!”

But here’s the thing: we can come boldly and confidently to this throne. But notice it does not say, “Arrogantly“! That is a fine point we need to remember. With our arrogance, we will saunter in and shout, “Hey Pop! I need some dough . . .” Ah, but boldness and confidence recognizes that you don’t deserve it, but the King Himself, has invited you in, and unlike the cowardly lion, you can approach the very throne of Yahweh!

And when you come, can I suggest that you ask for all the grace and mercy you need to see you through every temptation and trial. The devil has a million ways to make you feel guilty, afraid, condemned and confused. He will come at you saying, “You have so much junk in your heart, he will never listen to you!” That fiendish and foul enemy of God will lie, steal and cheat  you out of your inheritance!  Fortunately, a long time ago I learned to stop looking in my heart, because it is always black. Ah, but in my Father’s eyes my heart is as white as snow. Why? Because He chooses to see me that way, and because all of my filthy rags are covered with the blood of the Lamb!

Friends, I don’t care  how you feel about it. Simply look to God’s Word for what Jesus has done. He has wiped your slate clean!

While you are there, go ahead and remind Him that it was His idea for you to come. You didn’t go up to Him and say, “Hey God, I want everything you have!” No, no! He invited you in saying, “All I have is yours. Come and get it!”

Now, take Him at his Word! The Bible says that everything he has for us is obtained by faith. By faith, all you have to say is, “Lord Jesus, flood me with your peace because you have said it is mine! I claim a rest for my soul.” There is nothing you can do to work this up. I don’t care what worship or praise you offer will bring it down. No, it comes from being rooted and grounded in a revelation of God’s love for you. It’s not a feeling,  but rather a Word that he himself spoke: “In my house is bread enough to spare!” (Luke 15:17)

Go ahead, take God’s Word and hammer all your fear, guilt and condemnation to pieces! Reject it all — it is not from your God! You can say, “Let the devil come at me with his lies. My Father knows it already, and he has forgiven and cleansed me. There is no guilt or condemnation toward me. I am free!”

What are you waiting for? Shout it:”I AM FREE!”

Friend, you want to sit around whining and crying into your hands, but if you simply ask the Spirit right now to help you seize this truth — to get rooted and grounded in it — the next few days will be the greatest days you have ever had! You can say, “Oh Lord, I know I am going to make mistakes, but nothing is going to shake me because you have everything I need to attain the victory and to live in it.”

Dear God my friend, just simply come into His storehouse and claim all that is yours from your loving Father! No, you don’t go in arrogantly, but also don’t neglect what He has given you!

Nickolas

With these Morning Messages, I take you on guided tours to, as Bunyan described, the Celestial City. At times we linger at corners familiar and unseen. And explore the depths of our faith along the way.

The trail is long, but there’s no hurry. Though we do need to stock up on supplies for the way, and that’s where I need your help. If you enjoy these messages, please consider becoming a contributing member of this tour group. It will be very much appreciated.

This entry was posted in A Perfect Heart, Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

