Gaining A New Perspective

I am sure you have heard the old adage, “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” But then someone countered, “You know, doing the same thing repeatedly with an expectation of differing results would be the definition of stupidity, not insanity.” Either way, the point is well made.

My argument is that if things are not changing, it might be time to change the way we look at them! My recommendation is that we go to our Lord and ask for His perspective. Whether we are talking about people, places or things, we might be surprised at what He shows us. If we really press in, we may gain a tremendous revelation.

Most of us are willing to acknowledge that His ways are higher than our ways and that His thoughts are higher than our thoughts. That is because, frankly, He is smarter than we are and He certainly has a much broader view of things.

So, if you are confused as to why things haven’t changed in your life, why don’t you discuss it with Him? Granted, you will have to wait on Him to give you the entire revelation, but during the process you will mount up with wings as eagles and soar above the Heavens! You will also gain the prophetic perspective you are looking for! I am reminded of what Paul admonished us to do:

Don’t become like the people of this world. Instead, change the way you think. Then you will always be able to determine what God really wants—what is good, pleasing, and perfect (Romans 12:2)

I am serious on this. If you are willing to humble yourself and go to our Father, ask Him to show what is missing. In fact, try praying something like this. Adapt it to your words and where your heart is:

Oh Father, I need Your perspective on my situation. Please open my eyes and expand my understanding. Let me see what I am missing. Give me a glimpse of what You see. Through Your Spirit, teach me, instruct me and help me discover what I need to know. Share you thoughts with me about what I need to change, and I will work with You to see those changes take shape in my life. I will wait on You until You show me. I will not be impatient because I truly want my life to reflect your grace and your life! Amen!

Nickolas

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

With these Morning Messages, I take you on guided tours to, as Bunyan described, the Celestial City. At times we linger at corners familiar and unseen. And explore the depths of our faith along the way.

The trail is long, but there’s no hurry. Though we do need to stock up on supplies for the way, and that’s where I need your help. If you enjoy these messages, please consider becoming a contributing member of this tour group. It will be very much appreciated.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

