How Small IS Our God?

As many of  you know, over the past year or so, I have been experiencing a time of very difficult trial and testing of my faith and devotion. In fact, for the last few days I haven’t been able to send out my Morning Messages because I have been experiencing additional fatigue that, at this point, I cannot explain. I have sent my Endocrinologist, as well as my General Practitioner, the records of BGs, and BPs for the last week, to see if they can find any trends that I am unable to discern.

Through this time, I assure you I have never underestimated what my Father can do, and what He is willing to do. My faith and devotion remain strong and I remain steadfast and firm on my convictions. I just regret for the additional burden it has placed on my wife. What has amazed me is that I have remained convinced that my Father loves me! I see this demonstrated all through the Scriptures, but more importantly, I have experienced it in my own life! Not only that, I have seen that when we turn to Him, he will over-answer our prayers! And yes, I realize that I have been using that phrase a lot lately, but it is something he has been proving to me over and over.

Through these struggles, of the last two years, I have learned that it is one thing to know and confess things; it is something else for us to live as if we believe it. Isn’t this what Paul told the church in Ephesus?

“Glory belongs to God, whose power is at work in us. By this power he can do infinitely MORE than we can ask or imagine” (Ephesians 3:20)

What I am trying to say is that most of us will agree that Yahweh is able to answer our prayers but does He want to answer them? Then, is He willing to do for us exceedingly above all we can even imagine! Well, I will state unequivocally that when His answer comes, it won’t be according to our puny requests, but according to His riches and might!

This is what our Lord said:

“Stop judging, and you will never be judged. Stop condemning, and you will never be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven. Give, and you will receive. [And here it is] A large quantity, pressed together, shaken down, and running over will be put into your pocket. The standards you use for others will be applied to you’ (Luke 6:38).

Then in Paul’s first letter to the church in Corinth, he wrote:

What eye has not seen and ear has not heard and has not entered into the heart of man, all that God has made and keeps ready for those who love Him [those who hold Him in affectionate reverence, promptly obeying Him and gratefully recognizing the benefits He has bestowed].

Yet to us God has unveiled and revealed them through His Spirit, for the Holy Spirit searches diligently, exploring and examining everything, even sounding the profound and bottomless things of God [the divine counsels and things hidden and beyond man’s scrutiny]. “(I Corinthians 2:9-10; Isaiah 64:4; 65:17).

Even Peter chimed in:

Through his glory and integrity he has given us his promises that are of the highest value. Through these promises you will share in the divine nature because you have escaped the corruption that sinful desires cause in the world” (II Peter 1:4).

See? Nothing is little in our Father’s heart! His offer to us in no Mickey Mouse kind of deal! NO! He goes exceedingly above and beyond our wildest dreams!

Paul instructed Timothy to,

Tell those who have the riches of this world not to be arrogant and not to place their confidence in anything as uncertain as riches. Instead, they should place their confidence in God who richly provides us with everything to enjoy” (I Timothy 6:17).

It is almost as if He was begging us to ask for great things! We love to call our Lord “our King,” but do we pray prayers that are worthy of our King’s greatness? Do we limit want He is willing and able to do in our lives? Oh, when we start thinking about Earthly kings, we think about how they abuse and take advantage of their subjects. But OUR king cares for his subjects, and they honor him by making big requests; believing he has all they need and is wiling to provide it abundantly!

Friends, even in the midst of my own trials and struggles, I recognize that I cannot call my Father, “King,” and then accuse Him of letting me remain in my need! I do not dishonor Him by limiting His work. I refuse to place Him in a tiny box and only take Him out when I need something from Him. He IS my Father, and I love Him, and He loves me!

Come on, be honest. Have you been embarrassing your Father with puny requests? I believe His Word to you this morning is:

“‘Test me in this way,” says Yahweh Tsebaoth. “See if I won’t open the windows of heaven for you and flood you with blessings’” (Malachi 3:10).

Nickolas

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

