Hmm, An Unrelenting Love? I Like That . . .

Because of the struggles I have been experiencing, a fried of mine reminded me that my “Heavenly Father” had an “unrelenting” love for me. Hmm, I thought about that and finally said, “Cool!” (Yeah, I grew up in the 70’s and used that word a lot). Anyway, being “me,” I always have to look at the meaning of words. In fact, I am very “picky” about words.

This is not new to most of you, because I have shared before how when my kids were young I used to read stories to them, mostly at night so they could get into the routine and it would calm them down. But whenever read to them, I would ask them “So, what did you think of the story?” It didn’t matter if it was a story I wrote, or another story from someone Bunyan; Brian Jacques, C.S. Lewis, Tolkien, or whoever I was reading at the time. For instance, after my older boys saw Jurassic Park, I read the book to them, and began to ask how the book was different from the movie? (I hope they do the same with their kids).

But many times when I asked how they liked the book, the answer was a simple “Good.” Huh? ”Good?” I banned the word “good.” The book could be funny, boring, interesting, scary, lovely, awful, delightful, or a combination of terms. It could be almost anything, but not good. I told them we were giving the old and tired words “good” and “bad” a well-deserved rest. (I was such a tough dad).

I think the same applies for people. Oh, not that the old and tired need to be put to rest, but that people are rarely just good or bad. Somebody could be ebullient, which means Bubbling with enthusiasm or excitement; or they could be tremulous, if they are timid or nervous. Some people are pavid, meaning that they are exhibiting or experiencing fear; or timid.

So the word I wanted to know about today is, unrelenting.

un·re·lent·ing (nr-lntng) adj.

  1. Having or exhibiting uncompromising determination; undiminished in intensity or effort : unyielding: an unrelenting human rights worker.
  2. Not diminishing in intensity, pace, or effort: an unrelenting ice storm.

Hmm, uncompromising determination; undiminished in intensity or effortunyielding, incapable of being changed or persuaded by arguments. Another way to look at this that being unrelenting is to stick to a determined course.

Wow!! What a perfect word to describe our Father’s love! I can’t even imagine a more appropriate description! His Love is absolutely unrelenting. Nothing can hinder or diminish His loving pursuit of both sinners and saints. The Psalmist expressed it this way: “You hem me in behind and before . . . Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there” (Psalm 139:5, 7–8).

David was obviously talking about the great highs and lows all of us face. He is saying, “There are times when I am so blessed, I feel lifted with joy. And other times . . . well, I feel like I am living in hell, condemned and unworthy.” Oh friends, it doesn’t matter where where we are! It doesn’t matter how blessed we feel, or how low our situation is our Lord and King is there! We can’t get away from His unrelenting love. We can’t chase it away regardless how unworthy we may feel. Even when we are disobedient — sinning against the truth, taking His grace for granted — He will never, ooh, I’ll say it even more boldly: NEVER stop loving us! His love for us is relentless!

lol. That reminds me how last Wednesday night, during our Wednesday-night Bible Study, our Pastor simply read Psalm 145, verses eight and nine:

The Lord is gracious and compassionate,
    slow to anger and rich in love.

The Lord is good to all;
    he has compassion on all he has made

And we spent the next hour and half discussing those two verses! Amazing how that happens! You don’t agree? Think about the apostle Paul. When we read about his life, how in his BC days, he was a man bent on destroying The Church. He was like a madman in his hatred for Christians.. No different from those in modern-day times He arrested everyone who followed Jesus. He sought the high priest’s authorization to hunt down believers so he could charge into their homes and drag them off to prison — or take them out and stone them where they stood!

But then, when he was finally converted, Paul testified that even during those hate-filled years — while he was full of prejudice, blindly slaughtering Christ’s disciples — his God still loved him! To the church in Rome he wrote, “God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us” (Romans 5:8). Isn’t that great! “Even though I wasn’t conscious of it, God was pursuing me. He kept coming after me in love, until that day when he literally knocked me off my high horse. That was the unrelenting love of God.”

As time went on, Paul became increasingly convinced that our God would love him fervently to the end, through all his highs and lows. He stated, “I am persuaded beyond doubt that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities, nor things impending and threatening nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation will be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:38–39). Yahoo!!

Well, I’ll tell you what, now that we belong to our Lord’s family, nothing can separate any of us from His love. No devil, no demon, no principality, no man, no angel, no depression, no bad-hair day, whether we have clean clothes or nasty dirty ones and our socks don’t match — nothing can stop God from loving us!

You can either accept that reality or reject it, that is your choice. But friend, since you are reading this message, can I suggest that you allow the Lord to demonstrate His Love for even you?

Nickolas

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

If you enjoy these messages, please consider becoming a contributing member of this tour group. It will be very much appreciated.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

