Why Are You Downcast?

I was going to offer some more thoughts on forgiveness (or more specifically, unforgiveness) but something else is burning of my heart. That happens sometimes, as you know, but we need to something very pressing.

I was listening to a video from Pastor JD Farag, of Calvary Chapel Kaneohe in Hawaii. As some of you know, last year some time, someone referred to Pastor JD as my twin. Not because he looks anything like me, but we have very similar styles of teaching and are messages are almost exactly alike. I was of course honored by that, because I have followed his videos for a couple of years, now.

Anyway, in this video, he was discussing the ninth chapter of I Corinthians and the particular message was superb (at least for me). Especially when he gets to about 14 and a half minutes, it began to really hit me. No, don’t skip forward to listen to that part, because you have to catch everything that lead up to this.

But before you skip to the video, which I will post in a moment, for some reason the Holy Spirit has led me to look at Psalm 42, over and over. Here it is, but see the passion, the earnest yearnings of the Psalmist’s heart:

Just as a deer longs for running streams,
God, I long for you.
I am thirsty for God, for the living God!
When can I come and appear before God?

Oh, to discover such a longing. Many of us have this hunger, this thirsting for the reality of what we confess. We feel within our hearts a desire so strong that, along with the Psalmist, we cry out, “When can I come and appear before you, Lord.” As A.W. Tozer told us, it is a horrible reality that we are starving for our Lord, while we are actually seated at our  Father’s table! How can this be? Aah, as A. W. Tozer pointed out, “it is not mere words that nourish the soul, but God Himself!”

I encourage you to read Tozer’s classic work The Pursuit of God. It is writing that will stir your heart and challenge you to a holy pursuit.

My tears are my food, day and night,
while all day people ask me, “Where is your God?”
I recall, as my feelings well up within me,
how I’d go with the crowd to the house of God,
with sounds of joy and praise from the throngs
observing the festival.

Read that again and see what the Psalmist was really saying. “I have been so overwhelmed with the burdens of life, I have lost my Savior. Where is he?” “I used to fellowship and worship you. I would gather with all of my brothers and sisters in church. Oh, what great times we used to have! The shouts of joy and praise. Wow!”

My soul, why are you so downcast?
Why are you groaning inside me?

Yes! Soul, all of my thoughts and emotions, why are you downcast?

Hope in God, I will praise him again
for the salvation that comes from his presence.

What happened to all of those years when you followed Him; All of those years you looked to Him for strength and encouragement?

O my God, my life is cast down upon me
and I find the burden more than I can bear
;
therefore will I earnestly remember You from the land of the Jordan River and the summits of Mount Hermon, from the little mountain Mizar

Deep is calling to deep
at the thunder of your waterfalls;
all your surging rapids and waves
are sweeping over me.
By day Adonai commands his grace,
and at night his song is with me
as a prayer to the God of my life.
I will ask Elohim, my rock,
                “Why have you forgotten me? {He hasn’t]
                Why must I walk around in mourning
                    while the enemy oppresses me?” [You don’t]
With a shattering blow to my bones,
    my enemies taunt me.
    They ask me all day long, “Where is your God?”

My soul, why are you so downcast?
Why are you groaning inside me?
Hope in God, since I will praise him again
for being my Savior and God (Psalm 42)

Yes soul, why are you suffering so? Why don’t you call on the Lord to deliver you? He will, you know.

 

 

 

 

Nickolas

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your generous gifts.
It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

