The Psalmist’s Insight

I had an interesting morning. I kept hearing, “God is good.” I heard that phrase over and over. I turned on the radio, and the preacher said, “God is good!” Wow. I think the Holy Spirit was saying something to me.

So, I did what I usually do in a situation like that, I went to the Scriptures. Somehow I ended up at Psalm 34 and found this:

I will thank Yahweh at all times.
    My mouth will always praise him.
My soul will boast about Yahweh.
    Those who are oppressed will hear it and rejoice (Psalm 34:1-2)

Oh! Obviously we are talking about a lifestyle of worship. The Psalmist certainly wasn’t one of those “Sunday-only,” Christians or the “Holiday-believers.” You know, the folks who show up on Sunday or only on Holidays, but don’t have any relationship with the Lord beyond that.

Praise Yahweh’s greatness with me.
    Let us highly honor his name together (Psalm 34:3)

Now THAT is the attitude we should have!

I went to Yahweh for help.
    He answered me and rescued me from all my fears.
All who look to him will be radiant. (Psalm 34:4-5)

Oh yes! That is what I have always expected. When I come to my Lord, He rescues me every time! “All who look to Him will be radiant?” Really? I was quite embarrassed once, when someone told me that I always seem to radiate joy. Maybe Psalm 34:5 is what he meant. (My wife said that she could always find me in a crowd because I radiated a light. But she was referring to my hair). [Wonderful wife].

    Their faces will never be covered with shame (Psalm 34:5)

Now that is cool!

Here is a poor man who called out.
    Yahweh heard him and saved him from all his troubles.
The Messenger of Yahweh camps around those who fear him,
    and he rescues them.
The Messenger of Yahweh camps around those who fear him,
    and he rescues them. (Psalm 34:6-7)

Again, that is what I always expected of Him.

Taste and see that Yahweh is good (Psalm 34:8)

Exactly what I kept hearing over and over, this morning! Because He is good, I fear nothing (Well, except for some of the rides at Cedar Point).

    Blessed is the person who takes refuge in him.
Fear Yahweh, you holy people who belong to him.
    Those who fear him are never in need.
Young lions go hungry and may starve,
    but those who seek Yahweh’s help have all the good things they need.
Come, children, listen to me.
    I will teach you the fear of Yahweh.
Which of you wants a full life? (Psalm 34:8b-12a)

Oh, I do, I do!

    Who would like to live long enough to enjoy good things? (Psalm 34:12)

Oh, I do, I do!

Keep your tongue from saying evil things (Psalm 34:13)

Well okay, I will.

and your lips from speaking deceitful things (Psalm 34:13)

Roger that!

Turn away from evil, and do good.
    Seek peace, and pursue it! (Psalm 34:14)

Thank you. That I will do!

Yahweh’s eyes are on righteous people.
    His ears hear their cry for help. (Psalm 34:15)

Oh how comforting!
Yahweh confronts those who do evil
    in order to wipe out all memory of them from the earth (Psalm 34:16)

Ooh, that is something they don’t want to hear, but need to.

Righteous people cry out.
    Yahweh hears and rescues them from all their troubles.
Yahweh is near to those whose hearts are humble.
    He saves those whose spirits are crushed (Psalm 34:17-18)

Oh please, remember that. When you reach the bottom of life, remember that your Father will rescue and when your spirit is crushed, He will deliver and comfort you.

19 The righteous person has many troubles,

Oh? That’s not what the TV preacher tells me . . .
    but Yahweh rescues him from all of them (Psalm 34:19)

Oh, now that is comforting!

20 Yahweh guards all of his bones.
    Not one of them is broken.
21 Evil will kill wicked people,
    and those who hate righteous people will be condemned.
22 Yahweh protects the souls of his servants.
    All who take refuge in him will never be condemned (Psalm 34:20-22)

What a great summation of our Father’s love and care for His people!

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your generous gifts.
It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

