Good Good Father

I recently listened to a song that truly provides an excellent testimony of what the Gospel is all about. I want you to listen to it first, then we will examine the lyrics.

Okay, now I want you to capture the lyrics. Don’t just read the lyrics, but “hear” the message within the lyrics:

Good Good Father

Oh and I’ve seen many searching for answers far and wide
But I know we’re all searching for answers only you can provide
’cause you know just what we need before we say a word

Now stop there. Have you been searching for answers every where, but never finding them? Have you worn out your fingers searching the “Yellow pages” for help? Have you been calling the Psychologists, Psychologists and neighborhood Mixologist?  Quit looking and run to the Messiah, the appointed Redeemer, Jesus, the Lord!

You’re a good good father
It’s who you are, It’s who you are
Its who you are
And I’m love by you
It’s who I am, It’s who I am
It’s who I am x 2

Oh Dear God, that is what I have always hoped you would cry! That is the purpose of these daily messages! I want you to taste and see how good our God is. I want you to reach out and grab hold of the greatest gift mankind has ever received! Stretch yourself to find the pearl of great price, the hope of all mankind and walk in the Glory of His Kingdom!

Do you need healing? Reach out for the Greatest Healer. Hey wait. We have always talked about and probably only thought about, Physical healing. And our Lord will indeed provide your needed physical healing. Some, sooner than they realize! Occasionally, it has been immediate healing, most often it has been gradual healing. But does it really matter though? When you are suffering, healing is healing. Whether it is instantaneous or not.

But just a day ago, a dear friend of mine and I were discussing how our Lord also provides emotional healing. We don’t mention that too often, probably because it isn’t so sensational and glaringly evident. But so many of us are brokenhearted, suffering losses of many kinds. We are walking around as emotional empty shells, but friends, I am here to assure you that our Lord can heal even broken and injured hearts!

Do you remember the passage from Isaiah that Jesus quoted? It was totally amazing:

The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me,

But why?

because the Lord has anointed me to preach the Gospel of good tidings to the meek, the poor, and afflicted; [Is there more?] He has sent me to bind up and heal the brokenhearted, [Ooh, there it is!] to proclaim liberty to the physical, emotional and spiritual captives . . . and the opening of the prison and of the eyes to those who are bound . . . to comfort all who mourn . . . to grant consolation and joy to those who mourn  — to give them a garland of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of joy instead of mourning, the garment expressive of praise instead of a heavy, burdened, and failing spirit — that they may be called oaks of righteousness  — lofty, strong, and magnificent, distinguished for uprightness, justice, and right standing with God, the planting of the Lord, that He may be glorified (Isaiah 61:1-3)

Oh man! Did you see it? “To heal the brokenhearted!” “To comfort all who mourn!” If you have suffered a loss of any kind: A marriage, the death of someone close, A job you have enjoyed and depended on, suffered the breakup of a significant relationship, faced disappointment of any kind . . . then dear friend, draw close to your Heavenly Father . . . whatever it is, our Lord can and will bring healing. Now, I have never witnessed a miraculous and immediate healing of emotional wounds, but healing can and will come. Trust your Lord!

The Psalmist understood this:

“The Lord is close to those who are of a broken heart and those who are crushed with sorrow for sin [Oh, I just saw your ears perk up on that one!] and [here’s the catch] are humbly and thoroughly penitent (Psalm 34:18)

Oh, Glory to our God! If you have confessed your sin, and are indeed broken and thoroughly penitent, He will bring healing! Grab hold of it and cherish the healing! How could this be? Well, as the song proclaims:

Because you are perfect in all of you ways
You are perfect in all of your ways
You are perfect in all of your way to us x 2

Oh it’s love so undeniable
I, I can hardly think as you call me
Deeper still, as you call me
Deeper still, as you call me
Deeper still, into love love love

You’re a good good father
It’s who you are, It’s who you are
Its who you are
And I’m love by you
It’s who I am, It’s who I am
It’s who I am

Because you are perfect in all of you ways
You are perfect in all of your ways
You are perfect in all of your way to us

Okay, now actually re-read the lyrics. I want you to truly capture the message in the song.

oh and I’ve seen many searching for answers far and wide
But I know we’re all searching for answers only you can provide
’cause you know just what we need before we say a word

You’re a good good father
It’s who you are, It’s who you are
Its who you are
And I’m love by you
It’s who I am, It’s who I am
It’s who I am x 2

Because you are perfect in all of you ways
You are perfect in all of your ways
You are perfect in all of your way to us x 2

Oh it’s love so undeniable
I, I can hardly think as you call me
Deeper still, as you call me
Deeper still, as you call me
Deeper still, into love love love

You’re a good good father
It’s who you are, It’s who you are
Its who you are
And I’m love by you
It’s who I am, It’s who I am
It’s who I am

Because you are perfect in all of you ways
You are perfect in all of your ways
You are perfect in all of your way to us

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your generous gifts.
It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

