“Do You Love Me?”

Recently I was mulling around in the Gospel according to John and when I came to the 14th chapter, a couple of promises struck me again. In the first promise, Jesus stated, “Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it” (John 14:12–14).

Wow! That’s a mouth full, isn’t it? Jesus makes it plain and simple in the last verse: “Ask anything in my name, and I’ll do it for you.” I love the way the Amplified Version renders this:

I assure you, most solemnly I tell you, if anyone steadfastly believes in Me, he will himself be able to do the things that I do; and he will do even greater things than these, because I go to the Father. I [I Myself] will grant whatever you ask in My Name as presenting all that I AM, so that the Father may be glorified and extolled in and through the Son. Yes, I will grant whatever you shall ask in My Name.

Cool! There is so much in those few verses, I could talk about them every day for the next week! But we need to keep reading because two verses later, Jesus promises, “I will ask the Father, and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever — the Spirit of Truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you. I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you” (John 14:16–18). Christ is saying, “I’m going to give you the Spirit of Truth and His power will live in you.”

These are incredible promises! But, if you were reading the entire chapter, you would have seen the one verse that is sandwiched between them: “If you love me, keep my commands” (John 14:15). Whoa! Now what is that doing here? Jesus is giving us some great promise: “If you ask in my name . . .” “The things I do, you can do . . .” “I will grant whatever you ask . . .” But if you read those verses again, you will see there is something you need to do: Believe. You see, =Jesus is telling us that there is a matter of obedience connected to these promises. What I mean is these promises have to do with keeping and obeying God’s Word. They were given to be fulfilled, so that nothing would hinder us from claiming the power that is Christ.

I am convinced that asking little or nothing in Jesus’ name is a reproach to him. Year after year, Christians settle for less and less. Finally, they settle for “mere” salvation only. “Oh Lord, let me in but don’t let me be hassled down here . . .” Some believers have no expectations other than making it to heaven someday. But our Lord’s sacrifice purchased far more than that! We are called to overcome, not to be overcome . . .

I ask you: Have you come to the end of your Christ? Do you expect nothing more than to be saved by his power and grace? Does your Christ end at just enough strength to make it through another day? For you, does He end at a place of occasional peace and joy, in a life lived mostly under Satan’s harassment?

All of those passages in God’s Word persuade me that “my” Jesus is no bigger than my requests. Yet, sadly, many believers make our Lord look insignificant and powerless by their unbelief. My friends, don’t limit your Christ! Stand up and let every devil in hell know how big your God is by how big your requests are. Begin to ask more from your faith. Allow you Lord to be bigger than ever in your life!

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts.
It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

