Expect the Unexpected

A few years ago I was able to get to know a brother living Bangladesh. He is working with Campus Crusade for Christ and he has become a very dear to my heart. One of my dreams and desires is that I will be able to travel to Bangladesh and meet him.

I also have another brother I have been praying for, and he lives in Houston. I hope that someday I will eventually meet him, as well. Now as bizarre as that sounds (and from my perspective, highly improbable), I am excited about the idea. But I will also be honest and admit that I am torn between an intense desire to investigate anything new, and a hobbit like reluctance for adventure.

I have said before how I  see myself much like Bilbo Baggins. Like me, he didn’t like adventures, and preferred to stay in his hobbit hole away from danger. It is said that he, “like most of his kind, were well off, well fed, and best pleased when sitting by his own fire with a pipe, a glass of good beer, and a meal to look forward to, and this he was the last person anyone would expect to see set off on a hazardous journey.” In fact, when Gandalf the Grey stopped by one morning, “looking for someone to share in an adventure,” Baggins fervently wanted the wizard to be somewhere else — anywhere but there. But like Gandalf the wizard, the Lord is beginning to show me some adventures that may come my way.

Will this ever happen? I suppose it really doesn’t matter because it is not up to me to make it happen, right? My point is that as exciting as that sounds, if it will ever happen, I have to let the Lord work it out. How many times do believers think they hear a “word from the Lord,” but then try to work out the details?

It requires our trust and obedience, with a whole bunch of faithfulness thrown in, to see all the wonders the Lord has prepared for us. Yeshua said, “if you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you!” (John 15:7). If you want a more definitive answer, read it from the Amplified Version: “If you live in Me [abide vitally united to Me] and My words remain in you and continue to live in your hearts, ask whatever you will, and it shall be done for you.” There you have it. If indeed I am allowed to meet my friend in Bangladesh and the one in Houston, and everywhere else I am meeting them, I must continue to be “vitally united” to Him!

“Oh child of God, hidden in his heart, abide in the deep love of the eternal God. Listen to His words, ‘Continue ye in My love,’ and welcome the flashes of fire proceeding from that love, the fire that seeks to purify you as fine gold.” (Jessie Penn-Lewis, Thy Hidden Ones).

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts.
It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

