The Discovery of Self

THE DISCOVERY OF SELF

If any man comes to me, and does not hate his own life . . . he cannot be my disciple. ~Luke 14:26

Beloved:  Do not stare at me because I am black, because I am
darkened  by the sun. My mother‘s sons were angry with me
and made me take care of the vineyards; my own vineyard I
have neglected. Tell me, you whom I love, where do you feed
your flock and where you rest your sheep at midday. For why
should I be like a veiled woman beside the flocks of your
companions?

Lover:      If you do not know, most beautiful among women, go to the
footsteps of the flock. And feed your young goats beside the
tents of the shepherds (Song 1:6-8)

Although the maiden sees that she is black and dark, she also has the hope that God will flood her being with his glory. Isaiah prophesied that “the moon will shine like the sun, and the sunlight will be seven times brighter, like the light of seven full days, when the Lord binds up the bruises of his people and heals the wounds he inflicted” (Isaiah 30:26). The darkness of the moon, symbolizing the un-renewed mind of the believer, will be totally transformed and filled with the light of the sun so that it too appears in the image of the sun itself! In fact, it said it would be “like the light of seven full days.” Seven of course referring to spiritual perfection, so this verse confirms that there will be complete light flooding the Church.

The New Testament testifies to this same hope. Although, before we can shine like the sun, we must first endure many times of testing and trials. As the Scriptures tell us:

“Now has come the salvation and the Power and the kingdom of our God, and the authority of His Christ. They overcame by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony; they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death” (Revelations 12:10-11)

“To him who overcomes, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I overcame and sat down with my Father on his throne” (Revelations 3:21)

The desert and the dry land will be glad; the wilderness will rejoice and blossom . . . they will see the glory of the Lord, the splendor of our God. Strengthen the feeble hands, steady the knees that give way; say to those with fearful hearts, ‘Be strong, do not fear; your God will come . . . to save you.’ Then will the eyes of the blind be opened and the ears of the deaf unstopped. Then will the lame leap like a deer, and the tongue of the dumb shout of joy . . . A highway will be there; it will be called the Way of Holiness. The unclean will not journey on it; it will be for those who walk in that Way; . . . only the redeemed will walk there, and the ransomed of the Lord will return. They will enter Zion with singing; everlasting joy will crown their heads. Gladness and joy will overtake them and sorrow and sighing will flee away‖ (Isaiah 35:1-10)

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts
It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts, Song of Solomon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

