The Banqueting House

THE BANQUETING HOUSE

The Master asks, where is my guest-chamber,
where I may eat with my disciples?
~Mark 14:14

Lover:      Behold, you are beautiful, my love. Behold, you are
beautiful; your eyes are doves.

Beloved:  Behold, You are beautiful, my Beloved; yea, pleasant. Also,
our bed is verdant. The beams of our house are cedars; our
rafters are of cypress. I am a rose, a lily of the valleys.

Lover:      As a lily among thorns, so is my love among the daughters.

Beloved:  As the apple among trees of the forest, so is my Beloved
among young men. I delighted in his shadow, and I sat down;
and his fruit was sweet to my taste. He brought me to the
house of wine, and his banner over me was love. Feed me
with raisin cakes, refresh me with apples, for I am sick with
love. His left hand is under my head, and his right hand
embraces me.

Lover:      I adjure you by the gazelles, and by the does of the field,O
daughters of Jerusalem, that you do not stir up
and do not awaken the Love until it pleases (Song 1:15-2:7)

The Bridegroom sees the Holy Dove shining through the eyes of our maiden because she has turned her gaze toward him in complete abandonment and trust.

Through the work of the Holy Spirit, she has the ability to yield herself completely to her Lord, and she has become single-eyed in her choice of Christ and his cross at all costs; so he looks at her and exclaims, “You are beautiful my darling, your eyes are as the doves” (Song 1:15).

Jesus told us that our eyes are the light of our body, so, when our vision is single and clear, our whole body is full of light (Luke 11:34). “So be careful that the light doesn’t become darkened. If your entire body is illuminated, it will be wholly bright!” (Luke 11:34-36).

As we fix our eyes on Jesus with a singleness of purpose, his glory will completely illuminate our life! We should never let the cost of our journey delay us or begin looking at our circumstances or the waves of turmoil around us, because that is when we take our eyes off Jesus and begin to look at the things that produce darkness in our minds and hearts (John 8:12).

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts
It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts, Song of Solomon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

