The Touch of the Pierced Hand

The Touch of the Pierced Hand

The waiting Lord sees the maiden shrinking from his call through fear — fear of consequences, fear of losing present blessings — an indefinable fear of what it may all mean in actual suffering. He knows that she is “in great fear, where there was no fear“ (Psalm 53:5). She should remember all the ways he has lead her, so far. His grace has always been sufficient to make each apparently impossible step quite easy. She should know that the fact of his calling, proved that he had prepared her for all that he was preparing for her.

He has never called her to take a step beyond her measure of faith. Why should she hesitate, now?

If it was a deliberate rejection on the part of her will, he couldn’t do any more until she yielded. But he can see that it is only, as it were, a surface shrinking, and that she must be enabled to ignore it and to act by her will alone. In the center of her will she is steadfastly purposed to follow him at any cost. So he puts forth his hand, and immediately her heart is moved.

He knows the character of each of his redeemed ones, and the spring that will respond to the touch of his pierced hand. In some it is the shame of cowardice in leaving him to walk alone the path of rejection; in others, a high sense of honor in loyalty to their Lord. What spring did he touch in Peter, with that one look that broke his heart?

My heart began to pound for him,” the maiden cried! Now comes the drawing power of his love. She looks at him, and she forgets her fears. Him! That He should need her fellowship, and seek it in vain; that He should count her worthy to suffer on his behalf (Philemon 1:29), and she shrank back! It cannot be! She is moved for Him, and her hesitation is over. She will trust Him! She will follow him all the way! Her choice is made. “my heart began to pound for him. I arose to open for my lover, and my hands dripped with myrrh . . . flowing myrrh, on the handles of the lock.“

In the early day, at the King’s table, the maiden exclaimed, “My Beloved is to me as a bundle of myrrh.“As she renews her abandonment and reopens her whole heart to her Lord, the divine life within her breaks forth in its costly fragrance, as a “sweet aroma of Christ unto God“(II Corinthians 2:15). As she chooses the path of sacrifice, her hands — suggesting the hand of faith that draws the bolt of the will — are fragrant with the costly and liquid myrrh.

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

As you know, I send these Morning Messages out free of charge, and there is one very simple reason. As the late Keith Green taught, no one should be left out of hearing God’s Word due to a lack of funds.

To echo something Keith said, “I only want to build God’s Kingdom and see it increase, not my own. If someone writes a great poem no one praises the pencil they used, they praise the one who created the poem. Well, I’m just a pencil in the hands of the Lord. Don’t praise me, praise Him!”

This is why I follow his lead in offering anything I write, produce, or even ministering in churches at whatever you can afford. I fully understand that there are many with limited resources and if you are among this group, please receive any aspect of my ministry without any obligation. I am honored to offer them to you.

But, as you can imagine, there is absolutely no way for me to determine your situations, so, twice a year, I now have to ask everyone for support. Please understand that if you are unable to help defray the costs, completely disregard any requests for support and know that it is a privilege to serve you.

If you are not among those listed above, and if you are able, please do support the costs. They are low, but they do exist and I depend entirely on the voluntary financial support of believers like you. As you probably know, I am not sustained by any other ministry or church. This is a work of love and passion, and something the Lord has given me to do.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts, Song of Solomon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

