The King of Glory

He knows the way I take;
when he has tried me,
I will come out as gold
Job 23:10

Surely I have stilled and quieted my soul . . .
My soul is with me like a weaned child.
Psalm 31:2

Friends: How is your beloved better than others, most beautiful of women? How is your beloved better than others, that you charge us so?

Beloved: My lover is radiant and ruddy, outstanding among ten thousand.

The question now asked by the daughters of Jerusalem, “What is your beloved more than another?” stirs the maiden’s being. How can she describe him who is the radiance of God’s glory, the One who is the image of the invisible God? Under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, she blurts out a vivid word-picture of him who made heaven and earth. This is a fresh vision of the Lord that has come to this one because she has followed on to know him, being made conformable to his death —Song 5:9-10

The daughters of Jerusalem, whether they represent professing Christians or true children of God, have evidently never had the Lord revealed to them or they would never have asked the faithful maiden, “How is your beloved better than others.“

In their eyes, the maiden is still the “fairest among women,“ and they do not at all understand the conflict and sorrow through which she has just passed. The have no conception of her anguish over the least unfaithfulness to God and of her fear to grieve him.

We can also see that this fear of hers, the fear that while on the path of her fellowship with his sufferings, her testimony of the Lord would be marred, was groundless. The daughters have seen his glory on her all the time. His beauty has been revealed through her brokenness. They have seen his humility revealed in her as she reflected him of whom it was written, “as a sheep before her shearers is silent, so he did not open his mouth“ (Isaiah 53:7). They had marveled at her faithfulness and wondered what it was in her Lord that could cause such devotion as this.

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

As you know, I send these Morning Messages out free of charge, and there is one very simple reason. As the late Keith Green taught, no one should be left out of hearing God’s Word due to a lack of funds.

To echo something Keith said, “I only want to build God’s Kingdom and see it increase, not my own. If someone writes a great poem no one praises the pencil they used, they praise the one who created the poem. Well, I’m just a pencil in the hands of the Lord. Don’t praise me, praise Him!”

This is why I follow his lead in offering anything I write, produce, or even ministering in churches at whatever you can afford. I fully understand that there are many with limited resources and if you are among this group, please receive any aspect of my ministry without any obligation. I am honored to offer them to you.

But, as you can imagine, there is absolutely no way for me to determine your situations, so, twice a year, I now have to ask everyone for support. Please understand that if you are unable to help defray the costs, completely disregard any requests for support and know that it is a privilege to serve you.

If you are not among those listed above, and if you are able, please do support the costs. They are low, but they do exist and I depend entirely on the voluntary financial support of believers like you. As you probably know, I am not sustained by any other ministry or church. This is a work of love and passion, and something the Lord has given me to do.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts, Song of Solomon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

