Bored, Boring, & Meaningless

I just finished sending you what I felt was one of the most important studies of my life. The Song of Solomon illustrated the relationship each of us is called to experience, but far too many never surrender to it  I am not being extravagant or over-stating myself but truly, are we getting bored with our Faith, or is it still capturing our full attention? I am serious. Maybe questioning our faith would be more accurate. Why don’t we have a greater involvement of our faith in our lives? Some of us are in the very presence of the Almighty, and simply moving our lips. Sure, some folks raise their hands, hop around with excitement, and others are moved to tears. Yet, some are numb and feel they are wasting their time. Why is that?

I remember something Isaiah said. He explained:

“This is the man to whom I will look and have regard: the one who is humble and possesses a wounded spirit . . . and who [get this] trembles at My word ” (Isaiah 66:2)

Let me ask you, how many of us still tremble at His Word and crumble in His Presence?

Please, I am not trying to be judgmental. I am questioning even my own heart. Do I still live with a passion for my Father — a passion just to be with Him? Today there is such a noise coming up before the throne of the Most High — the clamor of so-called praise, singing, and joyful shouting. But, the same people who love to sing and shout loudly exclaiming the praises of God, do they really have such an intense glory in their secret life with the Lord? When the meeting is over and there is no one there to listen except the only One who matters, do they still have that same passionate joy in your spirit, just to be alone with the Living God?

Let’s be real honest about this. How are we ever going to enjoy Heaven, if we cannot spend 2-hours in praise? What about even an hour? We better get used to it, because if we do not absolutely relish His company now, longing to be with Him more than anyone in the whole world, then we certainly will not be comfortable in Heaven. That is not just 2-hours — we are talking about all eternity in the company of the Holy One who made us.

I have gone through phases where I wanted to skip over the worship part and get on with the teaching. In fact, I would deliberately show up late, just to miss that part and I could hear the teaching. Oh sure, I was pretty shallow back then, but my thinking at that time was that even though I did not desire with all my heart to be in the conscious presence of “the Almighty,” that somehow, mysteriously, I would not have that problem after I died. I believed that salvation from a rotten devotional life would finally come with death (and then naturally heaven!). However, as one man said centuries ago, “There is no sanctification in the grave!” (See Heb. 9:27)

I am going to be real frank, now. How many of us believe that even though we have some evil and sin in our hearts today, heaven is going to take care of it all? Hmmm. You won’t find that in the Scriptures, you know. Why do we put our hope in some future redemption when Paul wrote, “Now is the time for your acceptance of God; behold, now is the day of salvation!” (II Corinthians 6:2)

Do you really believe that even though you allow pride and selfishness in your heart now, once you get to heaven everything will be all set because “it is impossible to sin in heaven“? Really? Have you forgotten that Satan allowed pride, selfishness, and deceit to rule his life, even though he had lived in the very presence of Yahweh since the day he was first created! Heaven is not going to take away your sins, only Jesus can take away your sins!

Oh, don’t get me wrong and send me a bunch of angry emails. I am not trying to say that our Lord will allow sin in heaven. On the contrary, He has prepared hell as the final dumping site for the devil — and all the sin in the universe! He will only allow what is holy to enter through the gates. (Revelations 21:27). However, I am reminded of something else Isaiah said:

“These people come near to me with their mouth and honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me. Their worship of me is based on merely human rules they have been taught” (Isaiah 29:13)

I guess that is what I am trying to say. It has been burning in my heart and I must share this with you: Heaven is not the place that will finally purify us . . . only the blood of Jesus can cleanse and purify us, and that takes place here and now. For, as the writer says, “without holiness no one will ever see the Lord.” (Hebrews 12:14).

Pause what you are doing right now and pray:

Father, I am simply being honest and confessing that I am not sure if I am prepared for eternity with you. In my flesh, I get bored with all the “Bible stuff.” My mind gets distracted as I enter into worship. I mean, if I get bored with it now, what am I going to do through eternity? Please, I ask that you continue the work you have begun and teach me to be patient and to dwell in your presence. Help me understand the wonder and beauty of your life. I know I love you, I just want to be prepared to be in your presence for all of eternity.

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

************

You may now download the complete study: The Song of Solomon
(With notes and outlines: The Song of Solomon [Outline])

************

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

