Be Revelated . . .

Sunday morning, a group of us were looking at the first three chapters of Paul’s letter to the church in Ephesus, and  this is a letter that I have always loved. Paul was praising God for everything he had done for us! No really. I can’t read this letter without wanting to jump up and run around my coffee table! It is so amazing, so exciting, and when Paul saw this he shouted, “God has blessed us with every spiritual blessing that heaven has to offer!.”

Just think what he has done — “Through the blood of his Son, we are set free from our sins. God forgives our failures because of his overflowing kindness. 8 He poured out his kindness by giving us every kind of wisdom and insight 9 when he revealed the mystery of his plan to us. He had decided to do this through Christ. He planned to bring all of history to its goal in Christ.” Oh, Glory to God! That is exciting! Everything we have ever hoped for finds its perfection and fulfillment in our Savior! Oh man, that is worth shouting about!

Paul was so excited, so amazed that he wished he could simply open up their heads and stuff in all of the wonders and marvelous things that the Spirit of God was revealing to him. “I never stop thanking God for you. I always remember you in my prayers. I pray that the glorious Father, the God of our Lord Yeshua Christ, would give you a spirit of wisdom and revelation as you come to know Christ better.” Man, the first time I read that I said, “Father, that is what I want! Please give me a spirit of wisdom and revelation! Let me know you better! Once my children were born I have continually asked our Father to give each of my children a spirit of wisdom and revelation! That they could know Him better! I continually pray for them, even today. My greatest desire is they could experience His presence in their lives, too, as my Pastor always says, “Be Revelated!” That this life we have received would become so real and overwhelming that it would govern every aspect of their lives!

I even pray for each of you who receive these messages! I so long for you to experience a “deeper insight . . . to know the confidence that he calls you to have and the glorious wealth that God’s people will inherit.” That you “will also know the unlimited greatness of his power as it works with might and strength for us. This is the same power He worked in Christ when he brought him back to life and gave him the highest position in heaven.” Oh man, this power is “far above all rulers, authorities, powers, lords, and all other names that can be named, not only in this present world but also in the world to come.” This power is so marvelous it will revolutionize your life! You will never be the same again!

Let’s be honest. Each one of us was once dead because of our failures and sins. We followed the ways of this present world and its spiritual ruler. Once, all of us followed the desires of our corrupt nature. We did what our corrupt desires and thoughts wanted us to do. So, because of our nature, we deserved God’s anger just like everyone else.

But glory to God, he is rich in mercy because of his great love for us. We were dead, but he made us alive together with Christ! God has brought us back to life together with Christ and has given us a position in heaven with him. This is what we need to experience. This is what we need to “be revelated” on.

Sometimes Scriptures become too common for us. It isn’t good enough to memorize a bunch of passages. We need to experience the Scriptures, we need to have them to become life for us. When you go to pray for someone, don’t begin to share a bunch of passages, especially if they know the Scriptures, themselves. What they need is to “be relevated.” They need have those passages to become life for them.

All of us have heard the passage where Jesus said, “ I will do anything you ask the Father in my name . . . If you ask me to do something, I will do it.” And we love to quote that passage and nod our heads in agreement. But I’ll tell you what, when you have become so intimate and so close to your Lord, the Spirit of God will speak those words to you and suddenly they are not just Bible passages you quote but an overwhelming comfort that if you ask anything of your Father, He will do it! You understand that you are indeed His vessel, His tool, His spokesman. And once your know that if you ask for anything, and your Father will do it, your prayers cease being frivolous and callous and more deliberate and direct.

If you truly desire to “be revelated,” to experience this depth of intimacy, kneel and pray:

Father, please give me a gift from the wealth of your glory. Please give me inner strength and power through your Spirit. Please allow Christ to live in me through faith. Give me a spirit of wisdom and revelation to know you better, so I can have deeper insight and will know the confidence that you have called me to have and the glorious wealth that I have inherited.

“Now, with all of God’s people you will be able to understand how wide, long, high, and deep his love is. You will know Christ’s love, which goes far beyond any knowledge. Now you will be completely filled with God.

“Glory belongs to God, whose power is at work in us. By this power, he can do infinitely more than we can ask or imagine. Glory belongs to God in the church and in Christ Yeshua for all time and eternity! Amen.”

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you—a to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

