The Art of Intercession (Amen)

Ever since I was a little person, I knew that you ended a prayer with “Amen!” But why? What does it mean? Well, I was later told that it meant, “Yes, so be it!” And that made sense to me. So that was how every prayer would end. I was happy with that, and it stated exactly what I felt.

But, several years ago, I began a very basic, rudimentary study of Hebrew and Greek. During my studies, I learned that it was much more than simply, “Yes, so be it!” It is pronounced Ah-main, not Aye-men, and comes from the root word, aman.  And according to  Jennifer Ross, someone I have grown to have a great deal of respect for, I learned that it becomes a firm answer of acceptance and surrender to what was said. So, you see, it is more than “Yes, so be it!

What I am saying is that “amen,” presuming that we are saying it with our heart and not just our voice, states that we are identifying  ourselves through both promises and prayers, and making them our own!

When we close out the Lord’s Prayer, or any prayer for that matter, with an “Amen” we need to say it loud and with emphasis! Don’t just whisper and mumble your “Amen,” use some gusto and let it be heard! It will be your final pronouncement that you meant what you just said and identify completely with the attitudes, the hopes, and goals that the prayer expressed.

So I guess the best way to end this series of messages on the Lord’s Prayer, which will take a lifetime (and more) to master, is with a checklist of the main items involved; so, I ask you:

  • Do you personally identify with the trust in Jesus Christ as your own Savior, and the faith in God as your own God through Him, and the recognition of every Christian as your own brother or sister in God’s family, which is expressed by “Our Father“?
  • Is the hallowing of God’s Name in and through you, whatever that may cost, the controlling purpose in your life?
  • Do you want to see God Triumph in His Kingdom, and to see everything that does not match His perfection come to an end?
  • If you must, are you will tolabor and suffer for the Kingdom and become its agent, the means of bringing it into lives and situations where the gates had been locked against God?
  • Do you joyfully accept God’s will of command for your own rule, and God’s will of events for your destiny, knowing (by faith) that both are absolutely right?
  • Is there anything in your heart that is flying in the face of God’s will of command, and excusing yourself on the grounds that there are other desires and plans you are faithfully following? If so, what are you going to do about it?
  • Do you know and see that unless God acts to provide for today’s needs, and to forgive today’s sins, and to protect you in today’s temptations, you are lost?
  • Do you consciously commit to never hold a grudge or cherrish bitterness against anyone, but to always show forgiveness and mercy, because that is what your God shows you?
  • Is there any person you have refused to fogive for something they have said or done? Right now, are you willing to ask the Lord to help you change your attitude, and get right with person?
  • Do you make it your habit to watch and pray against temptation? Will you make it your habit from now on?
  • Is the Lord’s Prayer really in your heart? Are you being honest when you say ‘amen” to it?

If you can answer “yes,” to all of these questions, then along with Keith Green pray:

“Create in me a clean heart, oh God
And renew a right spirit within me
Create in me a clean heart, oh God
And renew a right spirit within me

Cast me not away from Thy presence, oh Lord
And take not Thy holy spirit from me
Restore unto me the joy of Thy salvation
And renew a right spirit within me

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you—a to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in A Life of Prayer, A Perfect Heart, A Time of Elightenment, Adversity, Being Approved, Cost Counting, Daily Thoughts, Gratitude, Growing in Grace, Intercession, Intimate Communion, Lord's Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

