The Great Awakening

What do I mean when I speak of “The Great Awakening“? I bet you think of the spiritual renewal that began with people like the Wesley brothers and George Whitefield in England and crossed over to the American Colonies during the first half of the 18th Century. But no, I am not referring to that. I am actually referring to the Great Awakening our Father wants to do, or has done, in your life. I got the idea something Paul described as “revelation and enlightenment.” Take a look:

I always pray that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may grant you a spirit of wisdom and of revelation that gives you a deep and personal and intimate insight into the true knowledge of  the Father through the Son. And I pray that the eyes of your heart, the very center and core of your being, may be flooded with light by the Holy Spirit, to allow you to know and cherish the hope, the divine guarantee and the confident expectation to which He has called you, the riches of His glorious inheritance in God’s people, so that you will begin to know what the immeasurable and unlimited and surpassing greatness of His active power is in us who believe. These are in accordance with the working of His mighty strength!” (Ephesians 1:17-19)

Wow! It is a mouthful, but what a prayer! This is what I pray for each of you! I remember praying this way for myself and others since 1979! I pray this for my Pastor and his darling wife [someone who also loves to pray!] I pray it for each member of our church (and those who visit us). But, do you understand what Paul was saying? Paul was telling the Ephesians, “I want God, our Father, to give you a fresh revelation, a new enlightenment, that he will open your eyes to the calling he has given you.” Do you remember the song, Amazing Grace where it says, “I once was blind, but now I see!”? [Oh, how I love that song!] Paul was asking the Lord to give you new understanding about your inheritance, the riches in Christ that belong to you. There is a might and power God wants to unleash in you if you will merely avail yourself to it . It is the exact same power that was in Jesus — even the power that raised Him from the dead! This isn’t just some ooey gooey feeling! It is the refreshing, renewing, re-energizing power that Jesus continually walked in and demonstrated.  That power is available to YOU. Yes, even better than that, the same power that is present in the enthroned Christ in heaven is in you right now!!

According to Paul, “all this energy issues from Christ: God raised him from death and set him on a throne in deep heaven, in charge of running the universe, everything from galaxies to governments, no name and no power exempt from his rule. And not just for the time being, but forever.” is the same “incomparably great power for us who believe.” (Ephesians 1:20-21, 19). This is why Paul exhorts, “Examine yourselves to see whether you are even in the faith; test yourselves.” (II Corinthians 13:5).

Whoa! So, how are we to examine ourselves? We do it by measuring ourselves against the awesome promises of God! We are to ask ourselves: “Do I draw on Christ’s resources to resist the devil? Do I access his power to overcome sin? Do I live continually in the joy, peace and rest Jesus has promised to every believer without exception?”

Your personal “great awakening” comes the day you look at your life and cry out, “There has to be more to life in Christ than this! All my plans have unraveled, all my dreams have been shattered. I am living as a slave to my fears and fleshly lusts. But I can’t do it any longer.

“I know the Lord has called me to more than this defeated life. And I won’t be a hypocrite. Oh, God, is there actually a place where you will supply me with strength to live victoriously? Are you really willing to make me more than a conqueror in my trials? Is it true you have provided a place of perfect peace for me in the midst of my battles?

“Is it really possible for me to have continual intimacy with you? Is it true I don’t have to slide into apathy anymore or struggle to please you? Is there actually a place of rest in you where I’ll never again need revival, because my faith remains steadfast?”

My friends, all of it is true, and all of it is achievable. Reach for it and claim it for yourself — and begin to live it!!!

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you—a to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in A Life of Prayer, A Perfect Heart, About the Holy Spirit, Being Approved, Daily Thoughts, Intimate Communion, Knowledge, Understanding and Wisdom, Walking By Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

