We Reap The Benefits!

You know, I was thinking about something that just doesn’t seem fair. Seriously. Yahweh gave His Son, and the Son gave His life, yet we are the ones who receive all the benefits! Now here’s the thing, it seems to have been by mutual consent! The Father and Son, that is, made a covenant to keep and preserve the seed of Christ. This was intended to ensure that we will endure to the end.

I found all that in the Psalms:

“He will call out to me,
        ‘You are my Father, my God, and the rock of my salvation.’
     Yes, I will make him the firstborn.
        He will be the Most High to the kings of the earth.
     My mercy will stay with him forever.
    My promise to him is unbreakable.
     I will make his dynasty endure forever
        and his throne like the days of heaven.

     “If his descendants abandon my teachings
        and do not live by my rules,
     if they violate my laws
        and do not obey my commandments,
     then with a rod I will punish their rebellion
        and their crimes with beatings.
     But I will not take my mercy away from him
        or allow my truth to become a lie.
     I will not dishonor my promise
        or alter my own agreement.
     On my holiness I have taken an oath once and for all:
        I will not lie to David.
         His dynasty will last forever.
        His throne will be in my presence like the sun” (Psalm 89:26–36)

You see, our Father made this covenant pledge to His Son:

I, the Lord, have called you to do what is right.
    I will take hold of your hand.
    I will protect you.
    I will appoint you as my promise to the people,
        as my light to the nations” (Isaiah 42:6).

His Father was saying, “My hand will always be holding on to Yours and You will never be away from my keeping power. I pledge to keep You safe from all the schemes of the devil.”

Our Father’s pledge is also made available to us because His Son’s sacrifice on the cross has brought us into their covenant agreement. As I said, He paid the price, and we receive the benefits! Yahweh pledged to His Son, “If You go, I will keep and preserve every one of Your seed, just as I have kept and preserved You. I will never remove My faithfulness from You, nor from Your children!”

As His disciples, His devoted follower, that is referring to us! All you have to do is remain faithful to Him and thank Him for His care for you! That’s it!

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you—a to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

