Storing His Words

I think I have always enjoyed writing. I think it goes back to first grade, actually. I wrote my first story back then, and my teacher had submitted it to a Teacher’s Journal of Creative Writing. I understand that it was actually published, although, I didn’t receive any royalties or credit, as far as I know. lol All I remember of that story was, “I knew a frog who sat on a log and all day enjoyed basking in the sun . . .” Not much of a story, but for first grade, what would you expect?

But I continued to write. I wrote poems, stories, journals. In fact, I confess to having three passions (obsessions, really): Writing, Reading, and Science (mostly Astronautical Science. Which is why growing up, my dad used to say I had nothing in my head but space. But that is a different story).

Anyway, back in High School, all those many years ago,  one of my favorite classes was Creative Writing, and the teacher taught us to always “write from our heart.” She would say, “There is no thinking when you begin to write. Your first draft is always from your heart. Then, you rewrite with your head.” An old English Poet named William Wordsworth, confirmed my teacher’s instructions when he wrote, “Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.”

That may sound confusing, but it has always helped me whenever I wanted to write. This is especially true with these Morning Messages. I always begin my message by listening to my heart, where the Spirit of God resides, and allow Him to guide and direct my message. Then, I go back and edit, and often, rewrite portions of what I had typed out. (By the way, if you see several grammatical errors, and misspellings, it is because I was in too much of a rush, and didn’t follow the second step of writing). My wife has suggested that I should begin using a notebook and write my thoughts down and then type them out. That seems like a good idea.

But, if you begin with your heart, you better be filling your heart with things to share! This is why Paul admonished us to, “Let Christ’s word with all its wisdom and richness live in your heart. Use psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs to teach and instruct yourselves . . .” (Colossians 3:16).

I am sure Paul was thinking about what he was taught in Torah: “Take these words of mine to heart and keep them in mind. Write them down, tie them around your wrist, and wear them as headbands as a reminder . . .” (Deuteronomy 11:18). Oh, that is just the start! We need to love our God “with all our heart, with all our soul, and with all our strength.” To “talk about [His Words] when we are at home or away; when we lie down or get up” Just about everywhere! (Deuteronomy 6:5-7). To do this. we must know God’s word. You store valuable data carefully on your computer, do you carefully store God’s word in our heart and soul? If you do, you will guard your mind against all of the pollutants of the world, that continually compete with the Word of God!

The Law the Lord had given to Mose to write down, seemed pretty harsh to those who were called to follow them, so Yahweh instructed Moses to assure them:

“This command I’m giving you today isn’t too hard for you or beyond your reach. It’s not in heaven. You don’t have to ask, ‘Who will go to heaven to get this command for us so that we can hear it and obey it?’ This command isn’t on the other side of the sea. You don’t have to ask, ‘Who will cross the sea to get it for us so that we can hear it and obey it?’ No, these words are very near you. They’re in your mouth and in your heart so that you will obey them.” (Deuteronomy 30:11-14).

You see, my dear friends, if God’s word is stored in our heart, it will also be in our mouth! That is what Jesus assured us of. Read Luke 6:45! What does a football fan talk about? Football! If they are a car enthusiast, what do they think of? Cars! In the same way, if someone is filled and obsessed with God’s word, they will continually speak about God’s word! You will discuss whatever your priorities are.

As the Psalmist explained:

The mouth of the righteous person reflects on wisdom.
    His tongue speaks what is fair.
The teachings of his Elohim are in his heart.
    His feet do not slip . . . I have treasured your promise in my heart
    so that I may not sin against you” (Psalm 37:30-31; 119:11)

When we store the Words of God in our heart, we know the things that please Him and what displeases Him. And, as you meditate and store His Words in your heart, you will have the desire, the longing to please Him! It is simply the pleasant result of your studies!

Solomon shared his keys to Wisdom:

My son, keep my words and treasure my commandments within you so they are readily available to guide you. Keep my commandments and live, and keep my teaching and law as the apple of your eye. Bind them securely on your fingers; Write them on the tablet of your heart” (Proverbs 7:1-3).

All throughout the Scriptures you see that Yahweh continually told His people to “write His word on their heart,” but most did not follow His instructions. How sad. Please, do not follow their example. Begin to stir up the gifts that are within you to desire and yearn for the Wisdom and Power of God’s Word in your life.

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in A Life of Prayer, A Perfect Heart, About the Holy Spirit, Being Approved, Control Your Thoughts, Cost Counting, Daily Thoughts, Griping and Complaining, Growing in Grace, Guidance, Holiness, Holiness and You, Intimate Communion, Knowledge, Understanding and Wisdom, Sound Doctrine?, Strongholds. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

