Making Our Thoughts Like His

I have texts here that have so often been misunderstood and have misled many believers, primarily because the “teachers” explaining them must have never read the tests, or they simply stopped reading because they didn’t want to be responsible for what the Lord was saying. But what they have missed is the majestic wisdom of our God and His desire to bring His men into fellowship!

“Listen! Whoever is thirsty, come to the water!
    If you have no money come, buy, and eat!
        Come, buy wine and milk. You don’t have to pay; it’s free!
Why do you spend money on what cannot nourish you
    and your wages on what does not satisfy you?
    Listen carefully to me:
    Eat what is good, and enjoy the best foods.
Open your ears to listen, and come to me!
    Listen so that you may live!

That seems pretty straight forward, and quite edifying, actually.

    I will make an everlasting promise to you—
    According to the faithful mercies
promised and shown to
 David.

I made him a witness to people to be a witness
to the nations regarding salvation,

    a leader and a commander for people.
You will summon a nation that you don’t know,
    and a nation that doesn’t know you will run to you
        because of Yahweh your Elohim,
        because of the Holy One of Israel.
            He has honored you.”

How exciting is that?

Seek Yahweh while he may be found.
    Call on him while he is near.
Let wicked people abandon their ways.
    Let evil people abandon their thoughts.
    Let them return to Yahweh,
    and he will show compassion and mercy to them.
    Let them return to our Elohim,
   forgive them.

Now here are the texts that are so greatly misunderstood and misquoted:

For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
    Nor are your ways My ways,” declares Yahweh.
Just as the heavens are higher than the earth,
    so my ways are higher than your ways,
        and my thoughts are higher than your thoughts.”

The error that is so often made is that after they read those words, everyone quits reading! You need to continue the thought that was begun! The Lord had just given His comparison. He stated that His thoughts were far greater than ours, and I can’t imagine that anyone would argue with Him with that, but then He goes on how He intended to change that great separation that divides us:

For as the rain and snow come down from the sky.
    They do not go back again until they water the earth.
        They make it sprout and grow
            so that it produces seed for farmers
                and food for people to eat.

Okay, keep reading . . .

So will My Word be which goes out of My mouth,
    It will not come back to me without results.
    It will accomplish whatever I want
        and achieve whatever I send it to do” (Isaiah 55:1-11)

Okay, so He said, “Yes, my thoughts are much greater than yours, however [and here we go], in that same way that rain falls from the sky and waters the earth, My Words are sent to “water” your thoughts and behavior. My intentions are to raise your thoughts and behavior to mine. So, I have sent my Word to provide the knowledge and wisdom you will need.” Do you see this?

We are told that His Words have been given to us to provide wisdom, conviction of sin, correction of error as well as restoration to obedience, training to live in conformity to God’s will, both publicly and in our private and personal lives — behaving honorably with personal integrity and moral courage (II Timothy 3:16). Are you willing to change your life? Study, and show yourself approved! (II Timothy 2:15)

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in A Perfect Heart, A Time of Elightenment, Being Approved, Daily Thoughts, Knowledge, Understanding and Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

