Loving The Truth

Okay, the last couple of days I have given you some things to consider as well, some homework for you to do. You are required the “Study to show yourself approved,” so, start doing that. But more importantly, get turned on to Jesus. I am as serious and a heart attack! Meet Him and begin to fellowship with Him every day of your life.

Now, if you have already accepted your Father’s forgiveness, do you also trust in his unconditional love for you? I’ have told this story many times, so you have probably heard it many times before, but it is so important for you to grasp what happened.

Years ago I was leading a college fellowship, at Western Michigan University. The group met every Wednesday night, and one night, as the meeting began, I realized that I supposed to lead the teaching but I had actually no leading what to share. So after worship, I opened it up to everyone, “Hey, what is Jesus doing in your life?”

One-by-one, like popcorn popping, people stood up and shared what Jesus was indeed doing in their lives. Some were real simple like, “The Lord help me pass last week’s test in Psychology,” or something like that. Other testimonies were more profound. Such as a healing or financial need being met (for college students, that is a big deal). But sitting in the group was a girl who had visited our group several times without really saying anything.

Whenever I looked at her it was like a dark cloud was continually over her head. I couldn’t discern what the problems were and I kept asking the Lord how I could minister to her, but I never received any direction or guidance regarding her. Well, that night, everything changed After several testimonies were shared, she interrupted the testimonies saying, “I’m sorry, but you people are talking about this ‘Jesus’ as if he is your best buddy or something and I can’t take that.”

Well, there was the opportunity I was asking the Lord for! I asked her, “Do you believe that Jesus loves you?”

“Oh, sure. He loves everyone . . .”

“Ah, that’s not what I asked you. I asked, does Jesus love you?

“Oh, sure . . .”

I walked over to her and knelt in front of her and as I held her hands, said, “No, please hear me. Does Jesus love YOU?”

She broke down in tears and admitted, “No, there is no way he could . . .”

All around the group, 60 some students were at that moment praying for her . . . and kneeling before her, I said, “Listen to that! Each one of them is praying for you. And they are hoping you will find peace in your life, as well.” By the end of the night, she was in tears and surrendering her life to the Lord!

Now that would be a great story in itself, but when she came in the following week, the dark cloud had disappeared and she was almost floating on the clouds. What we didn’t know is that the previous week, her brother had received the Lord and he was praying for her, as well! Obviously, the Lord heard all of the prayers!

Hallelujah! Many of us hold hidden fears and pain that only an outpouring of God’s Spirit can heal. Our Lord doesn’t cut us off every time we fail. He doesn’t constantly look over our shoulder, demanding we get it right. He simply asks that we come to him, confessing, “I believe your Word, Lord. Forgive me, wash me, hold me in your arms.”

I’ve told this story many times, so you probably heard it before, but it is so important for you to grasp what happened. Years ago I was leading a small college fellowship that met every Wednesday night. One night the meeting began and I supposed to lead the teaching but I had actually no leading what to share. So after worship, I opened it up to everyone, “Hey, what is Jesus doing in your life?”

One-by-one, like popcorn popping, people stood up and shared what Jesus was indeed doing in their lives. Some were real simple like, “The Lord help me pass last week’s test in Psychology,” or something like that. Other testimonies were more profound. But sitting in the group was a girl who had visited our group several times without really saying anything.

Whenever I looked at her it was like a dark cloud was continually over her head. I couldn’t discern what the problems were and I kept asking the Lord what to do for her, but I never received any direction or guidance regarding her. But suddenly, after several testimonies were shared, she interrupted everyone saying, “I’m sorry, but you people are talking about this ‘Jesus’ as if he’s your best buddy or something and I can’t take that.”

Well, there was the opportunity I was asking the Lord for. So I asked her, “Do you believe that Jesus loves you?”

“Oh, sure. He loves everyone . . .”

“Ah, that’s not what I asked you. I asked, does Jesus love you?

“Oh, sure . . .”

I walked over to her and knelt in front of her and as I held her hands, said, “No, please hear me. Does Jesus love YOU?”

She broke down in tears and admitted, “No, there is no way he could . . .”

All around the group, 60 some students began praying for her . . . By the end of the night, she was in tears and surrendering her life to the Lord.

The next week she entered our meeting as if she were walking on a cloud. Now that would be a great story in itself, but when she came in the following week the dark cloud had disappeared and she was almost floating on the clouds. The night before our prayers the previous week, her brother had received the Lord and began praying for her. Obviously, the Lord heard his prayers!

Hallelujah! Many of us hold hidden fears and pain that only an outpouring of God’s Spirit can heal. God’s desire for us is that we live each and every day without fear. So, don’t allow Satan to accuse you with a failure from the past. If you have repented of it, then you’re covered by Christ’s precious, cleansing blood.

Here’s God’s promise to everyone who places their trust in him: “Some trust in chariots, and some in horses: but we will remember the name of the Lord our God. They are brought down and fallen: but we are risen, and stand upright” (Psalm 20:7-8).

Father, you are glorious and this morning I thank you that you have seemed fit to bring me into your family; I am able to cry to you, “Father, Abba! My blessed Lord!” I stand before you this morning victorious and proud to be in your family. Thank you for your abundance of Grace and Forgiveness. I will never again bring up my past failures to you. Like the Psalmist I confess that I have thrown in my lot with you and I’m not budging (Psalm 26:1) I walk free of all my past failures and sins and I will spend my days in your Presence rejoicing.

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts, The Truth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

