Our Father’s Glory

Good morning, my friends. through all of the struggles I have been facing, I finally realized that when our Father manifests Himself in the world, in His creation, or in His people, He is indeed, Glorified . . . In fact, when we pray that our lives will glory Him, we are actually asking that we can be reduced, put down, lowered in the views of others. I can say that because it is impossible to show the power of our God and at the same time to glorify what George MacDonald called, “the bastard self.”

I TO myself have neither power nor worth,
Patience nor love, nor anything right good;
My soul is a poor land, plenteous in dearth–
Here blades of grass, there a small herb for food–
A nothing that would be something if it could;
But if obedience, Lord, in me do grow,
I shall one day be better than I know.

The worst power of an evil mood is this–
It makes the bastard self seem in the right,
Self, self the end, the goal of human bliss.
But if the Christ-self in us be the might
Of saving God, why should I spend my force
With a dark thing to reason of the light–
Not push it rough aside, and hold obedient course?

What I am saying is that we need to be prepared to lose ourselves, whatever that may involve, so our Father can be the only thing that matters. Yep, losing everything. Losing arguments for His sake, losing things we hold dear, losing our reputations, positions of power, losing the respect and affection of those we love — we may face all of those things when our prayer to glorify God in our lives. These are the things that Jesus Himself laid aside when He came to do the will of the Father! In Eternity, He had it made when He was with His Father.

Yet, Jesus declared, “I have glorified You on the earth . . . ” — and amazingly, that glory was manifested through His weakness, loss, and suffering. What a privileged position we are called to share! As Jim so wisely stated, “He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose.” How many of us are will to “give what we cannot keep?

Oh Father, help us draw away from ourselves and our small losses, to the glory that is yet to be revealed. Teach us that it only out of weakness that we are made strong, and only as we sufer that we are able to reign, only as we lose that we receive any gain.

This is an attitude only you can bring about. Just remember that you can still “confidently enter the throne of God’s kindness to receive mercy and find kindness, to help at the right time (Hebrews 4:16)

Go, my beloved children, live your life.
Wounded, faint, bleeding, never yield the strife.
Stunned, fallen-awake, arise, and fight again.
Before you victory stands, with shining train
Of hopes not credible until they are.
Beyond morass and mountain swells the star
Of perfect love–the home of longing heart and brain ~George MacDonald, “The Diary of an Old Soul

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

