Your Thoughts . . .

You must have noticed the title of this message: “Your Thoughts . . .” You are probably wondering where I am going with that, so, I am going to encourage you to be aware of your thoughts. So, this morning, where are they? Where are your thoughts? I ask this because as Christians, we always need to know what they are set on.

I know that when I ask what you are thinking, you believe I am pulling a trick question on you, but no, that is not true. Honest, I’m not trying to fool you or pull a “fast one” on you. Consider something Paul wrote:

“So if you are serious about living this new resurrection life with Christ, act like it. Pursue the things over which Christ presides. Don’t shuffle along, eyes to the ground, absorbed with the things right in front of you. Look up, and be alert to what is going on around Christ — that’s where the action is. See things from his perspective” (Colossians 3:1-2)

We are supposed to seek those things that are above, and we need to set our thoughts on things above. That is a choice we have to make.

There are specific things in the Word we would do well to concentrate our thinking on, such as the goodness of God and all Jesus Christ accomplished for us. If we don’t keep our thoughts on the things of God, it is easy to slip back into negative thinking patterns of the world around us. We have to think something, why not allow our mind to focus on thoughts of God?

In Psalm 73 the psalmist was letting his mind ramble on negative things, and he was miserable. Then, he brought his mind back to God and remembered all the wonders He had done, and that had changed his attitude. We follow similar patterns sometimes. We look within and get miserable. Then we remember to look to God and bring the joy back into our lives.

This same Psalmist said in Psalm 73 verse 2, “But as for me, I almost lost my footing. My feet were slipping, and I was almost gone.” Verses 14-16, “I get nothing but trouble all day long; every morning brings me pain. If I had spoken this way to others, I would have been a traitor to your people. So I tried to understand why the wicked prosper. But what a difficult task it is!” Asaph was a pretty miserable fellow, don’t you think?

Then look at verse 17, “I went into the sanctuary of God; then understood I their end.” He finally saw the error of his ways and came back to God. Psalm 73 ends in verse 28 with Asaph saying, “But as for me, how good it is to be near God! I have made the Sovereign Lord my shelter, and I will tell everyone about the wonderful things you do.”

That’s what we need to do! We need to search the Word for what God has done for us through Jesus Christ. We remember our sonship rights and choose to have our minds set on those things. It is our choice.

Remember II Corinthians 10:5, “. . . and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ.” We bring every thought captive.

Psalms 34 is a Psalm of David-a Psalm of praise. Verse 1 says, “I will bless the LORD at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth.” Verses 4 and 5 say, “I sought the LORD, and he heard me and delivered me from all my fears. They looked unto him, and were lightened (radiant): and their faces were not ashamed.” Looking to God, they were radiant. God is a spirit, and we cannot look at Him with our physical eyes. We look at Him by looking at His Word, which we can see with our physical eyes, and which tells us all about Him.

Thousands of times I have said, and I will continue to say until I reach eternity, our enemy has only three weapons to use against us. You can remember them by the acronym, TIS. That’s right. Thoughts, Ideas, Suggestion. Hebrews 12:1-2 tells us to look to Jesus. A more literal translation of these verses is, “looking away from everything else to Jesus.” We don’t look within ourselves or around us. We concentrate our thoughts on what God did for us in Christ Jesus. We just grab our minds and keep our thoughts on God and His Word. As we set our affections (our thoughts) on things above, the many promises of God’s Word are there to bring us joy and peace.

Fix your head today and look away from everything else–your finances, your job, your ungrateful spouse–whatever it is that is grabbing your attention and focus your thoughts on the who loves you and wants His very best for you. Have a great day!

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

