Whoa! Hold Back and Relax

I love it when the Spirit of God interrupts plans that we made. I say that because He is a whole bunch smarter than I am and knows what you need to hear. Better explain what happened this morning. I fully intended to return to Paul’s letter to the church in Ephesus, but I had a strong sense that I needed to address something else.

You see, as disciples of Jesus, our intentions are often righteous, but they end up being like that husband who arrives home, “Hey honey, I intended to stop and get you some flowers, but . . .” Ouch! We sincerely desire to serve the Lord and honor Him, but sometimes, well, we get ahead of His guidance.

It’s like the GPS we use. We set our destination, but then figure we know most of the way and ignore the verbal directions it gives us. Then, we get messed up, and the GPS has to reroute our journey. Bummer.

Maybe it is due to our impatience, or maybe it is our impulsiveness. But whatever the cause, I believe the Lord wants us to hold on and wait for His guidance. It seems the Psalmist recognized this:

I am expecting the Lord to rescue me so that once again I will see his goodness to me here in the land of the living (Psalm 27:13)

Absolutely! And rightly you should! “The Lord is indeed good to those who wait confidently for Him, and to those who seek Him on the authority of God’s word” (Lamentations 3:25) However,

Don’t be impatient. Wait for the Lord, and he will come and save you! Be brave, stouthearted, and courageous. Yes, wait and he will help you (Psalm 27:14)

My encouragement to you this morning is to wait expectantly, but don’t do anything impulsively. Just wait until the Spirit of your Father shows you what to do. Yeah, yeah. I realize that sometimes you feel that you are facing a crisis, and can “man” it up. You know, be the “tough guy.” But friend, that is part of our enemies plan. He intends to bring worry, confusion, and panic into our heart. All you have to know is that your Father is in control. Relax. Call on a Spirit of Peace.

He isn’t surprised by the events you are facing, the things that are taking you by surprise. Just take a deep breath and get clarity on His plan. The devil is twisting you into a knot and causing you to run ahead of the Spirit’s guidance. If you don’t, you will make a bigger mess and more mistakes. Resist that temptation! Put down!

“Be still and know that He is God” (Psalm 46:10), and wait for His direction.”Yahweh Himself is living; therefore stand unmoved despite the turmoil everywhere. He will not delay his help” (Psalm 46:5) He knows what you are facing and what it will take to see you through, and it is certainly a perfect solution!

Interestingly, where that passage says, “Be Still” is a call for those involved in a war to stop fighting, to be still. The word still comes from a Hebrew word rapa, which means, “to slacken, let down, or cease.” In some instances, the word carries the idea of “to drop, be weak, or faint.” Think of two people who are fighting until someone comes along and breaks up the fight. It is only after the fighting has stopped that the warriors can acknowledge their trust in God.

I suppose we can interpret the command to “be still” as “to be quiet in our Father’s presence.” We stop any frantic activity and let down our guard and to “be still;” to look to our Lord for their help. Again, we can look to the Psalmist:

I waited patiently for God to help me; then he listened and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out from the bog and the mire, and set my feet on a hard, firm path, and steadied me as I walked along. He has given me a new song to sing, of praises to our God. Now many will hear of the glorious things he did for me, and stand in awe before the Lord, and put their trust in him. Many blessings are given to those who trust the Lord and have no confidence in those who are proud or who trust in idols.

O Lord my God, many and many times you have done great miracles for us, and we are always in your thoughts. Who else can do such glorious things? No one else can be compared with you. There isn’t time to tell of all your wonderful deeds.

It isn’t sacrifices and offerings that you really want from your people. Burnt animals bring no special joy to your heart. But you have accepted the offer of my lifelong service. Then I said, “See, I have come, just as all the prophets foretold. And I delight to do your will, my God, for your law is written upon my heart!”

I have told everyone the good news that you forgive people’s sins. I have not been timid about it, as you well know, O Lord. I have not kept this good news hidden in my heart, but have proclaimed your loving-kindness and truth to all the congregation.

O Lord, don’t hold back your tender mercies from me! My only hope is in your love and faithfulness. Otherwise I perish, for problems far too big for me to solve are piled higher than my head. Meanwhile my sins, too many to count, have all caught up with me, and I am ashamed to look up. My heart quails within me.

Please, Lord, rescue me! Quick! Come and help me! Confuse them! Turn them around and send them sprawling—all these who are trying to destroy me. Disgrace these scoffers with their utter failure!

But may the joy of the Lord be given to everyone who loves him and his salvation. May they constantly exclaim, “How great God is!”

I am poor and weak, yet the Lord is thinking about me right now! O my God, you are my helper. You are my Savior; come quickly, and save me. Please don’t delay!

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in A Life of Prayer, A Perfect Heart, Adversity, Boldness, Control Your Thoughts, Daily Thoughts, Guidance, Intimate Communion, Waiting, Waiting on The Lord, We Are Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

