Forgiveness

I recently saw one of those Questionaire Links, you know, you find them on Facebook all the time. You “click” on it and magically pops out a “What is your ‘I am like’ phrase?

Someone sent it to me, and my first response was that I already had a phrase to define who I am:

I serve a risen Savior
He’s in the world today.
I know that He is living,
Whatever men may say.
I see His hand of mercy;
I hear His voice of cheer;
And just the time I need Him
He’s always near.

He lives, He lives, Christ Jesus lives today!
He walks with me and talks with me along life’s narrow way.
He lives, He lives, salvation to impart!
You ask me how I know He lives?
He lives within my heart

But then I decided, what the heck. Sure, I’ll give it a shot. I was quite surprised by what it came up with:

I am Nickolas

I’m like the sun . . . I radiate joy, but anyone who hurts me will get burnt

Sure, I will be honest that I like the idea that I “radiate joy.” But, I was quite surprised by the idea that I would hold a grudge. At least, that is how I read that last part. I responded, “Nah, those who love the Lord will never be hurt. Forgiveness is always my first response.”

I don’t ever remember withholding forgiveness. Probably because I had always recognized my need of forgiveness. I’m not sure. I just remember Jesus saying, “if you forgive other people their failures, your Heavenly Father will also forgive you.” Now that always sounded fair to me. But His warning also rang true: “If you will not forgive other people, neither will your Heavenly Father forgive you your failures.” Ouch!

Nickolas
Doulos Studies

(I send out messages like this each morning in emails, and if you are interested in receiving them, send me your email address and I will add you to the list: Mail List)

I do thank you for your gifts. It is your faithful and continued support that makes these messages possible.

This entry was posted in Daily Thoughts, Forgiveness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Forgiveness

Leave a Reply

